Vundo

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-28-06, 06:33 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vundo

Ok guys. How it got there I haven't a clue. Norton can't seem to get rid of it and McAfee had a sequence you went through but that still didn't seem to do it. I still get a pop-up from "I think it's called" winfix, machine slows down and is simply a pain sometimes. Is there anything I can do or is it time to back-up and reformat ?? Adaware daily finds 10 - 15 things and Spy-Bot finds a couple. Norton says it found Vundo and archived it. Bad part about a reformat is that I've got over a thousand songs on here and hundreds of pictures.

Dell Dimension 4700
Windows 2000XP Pro
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-28-06, 06:43 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,825
Received 32 Votes on 25 Posts
  #3  
Old 01-28-06, 07:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good luck with your problem.

As a side note, you will eventually have to reformat anyway, so if it has to be now it may as well be. Start planning on how you will go about doing this now or when the time comes. Figure out where to put the songs and other files while you reformat.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-06, 07:13 PM
Atribune
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You can download my vundofix.exe and use it with the following instructions.

Please download VundoFix.exe to your desktop.

* Double-click VundoFix.exe to run it.
* Put a check next to Run VundoFix as a task.
* You will receive a message saying vundofix will close and re-open in a minute or less. Click OK
* When VundoFix re-opens, click the Scan for Vundo button.
* Once it's done scanning, click the Remove Vundo button.
* You will receive a prompt asking if you want to remove the files, click YES
* Once you click yes, your desktop will go blank as it starts removing Vundo.
* When completed, it will prompt that it will shutdown your computer, click OK.
* Turn your computer back on.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-06, 07:20 PM
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can also run AdAware when windows starts, if AdAware finds this on a normal scan but can't delete it then running the scan when windows starts will allow AdAware to delete the offending file.

Joe
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: