HP scanner not working, help........

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-17-06, 11:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 499
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy HP scanner not working, help........

I have a HP Scan Jet 4200C. Every morning when I would start the computer, the light would come on inside the scanner, it would do a practice scan, then it was ready to go. I started the computer this morning, the scanner light came on, it sounds like it wants to do a practice scan, makes the noise like it want to, but won't. Now it won't let me scan anything and I don't know if its broke or maybe something is stuck inside. Can anyone help me out?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-06, 01:22 PM
jdeanth
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I use to have a cannon scanner sometimes wont start when turned on. I had to unplug it for a couple of minutes then plug it back in. It started working ok after that.
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-06, 04:55 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,130
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HP scanner not working, help........

If you cannot find a physical problem get on the hp site and make sure you have the beast registered.

I had a problem getting my hp 4670 scanner installed and working properly with my new desktop machine. I got to the service chat area for the scanner and had 3 long on-line chats over three days trying things and going through trials and changes and routines. After each session I received a complete copy of every step within an hour or so of the end of the session despite them telling me to print and save a copy. The shortest was about 1 hour!! They were patient and very helpful adding and modifying drivers, but it now works perfectly.

I wish it was not necessary, but they did the job well.

I now feel better about buying their equipment. - Before this, I never liked the hardware, but ended up buying it for one reason or another. This has changed my opinion.

Dick
 
  #4  
Old 02-17-06, 06:53 PM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 539
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try this, ... if it works

Hi:
Mine is all-in-one, one of its features is 'scan,' then it might be a bit difference from yours. However, in my case, I used the following procedure
to cure the problem.

(1) first, 'uninstall' all of printer/scanner's software by using Add/Remove

(2) Next, when the computer 'restart,' put the CD and re-install
"without" hooking-up scanner/printer

(3) When the computer prompted the scanner/printer to 'connect,'
use 'very first USB' located right under the port of 'Monitor' cable.

Note) If connected the scanner/printer with second or third USB, the problem started, ... Didn't work at all.

In my case, afterwards both printers working REALLY well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: