Space/Bar/Doesn't/Work


  #1  
Old 03-11-06, 02:06 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Space/Bar/Doesn't/Work

My/wife/used/the/laptop/last/nite/and/she/must/have/pushed/a/button/and/the/space/bar/quit.I/have/win/xp/and/tried/system/restore/but/no/luck.Can/you/help?/Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 03-11-06, 02:40 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is most likely a hardware issue, and has nothing to do with software. While you may be able to fix it, you may also need a whole new keyboard.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-06, 02:45 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I put the keyboard from my desktop on the laptop and the "remote" keyboard works perfectly....???
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-06, 02:46 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I put the keyboard from my desktop on the laptop and the "remote" keyboard works perfectly....??? Now the spacebar on the laptop is working. A miracle has occured!!
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-06, 02:47 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,911
Received 326 Votes on 281 Posts
Turn the unit upside down. Shake, rattle it, tap it. See how much dirt falls out. Have this problem in the office many time with staples stuck under keys.
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-06, 03:01 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll do that. Lot of dust here in Oklahoma with the drought. I'll take a soft bristle toothbrush and swipe it a couple of time too. Thanks!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: