Hard drive problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-06, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 79
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hard drive problem

I rebuilt a computer with a new motherboard and sata drive and it use to have a 20 gig hard drive that was just a regular pata. Instead of throwing away the perfectly good drive I installed it on one of my computers that doesn't support sata, thinking this would be a good way to add a little more storage there.

Everything appears normal, device manager says there's 2 drives and the BIOS recognizes the device, but the drive doesn't show up in "my computer". I double checked the jumpers and they appear right with the setting as slave.

I was going to use the disk management snap in to add/change the drive letter manually, but for some reason the area to do this is grayed out. One thing I noticed here when looking at the properties of the C drive was that both physical drives appear in the hardware area of the C drive. But the other drive I added also appears in a separate volume as well.

Is there something obvious I'm overlooking here to get this other drive to work?

Edit: This is on a Windows XP home.
 

Last edited by Skipslot; 03-25-06 at 01:27 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-06, 08:08 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you have the bios set to find it? it does not show on boot with the other drive? cables good?
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-06, 08:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 79
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, everything is fine there. The cables worked in the other computer. It shows up in bios but it doesn't recognize it beyond that, except as being one with the other hard drive.
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-06, 07:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check both drives to verify jumper settings. I had a similar problem and finally had to jumper one to "master" and the other to "slave" rather than "cable select" for either. The combination of "master" and "cable select" did not work, exhibiting symptoms similar to what you describe.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: