IE 6 Address Bar

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-25-06, 08:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 140
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
IE 6 Address Bar

XP Home SP 2 desktop with all security updates performed, Spybot and Ad-Aware run, AVG Free with no viruses found.



When typing in website in address bar, it is greyed out, and does not respond to "enter".

Favorites work fine, etc.

Have deleted cookies, temp Internet files, *.tmp files, etc., reset auto complete, etc,,,

Any ideas to make it take the website entered in the address bar?? Have confirmed that keyboard works fine.

MS website only lists "reinstallation" of XP as a cure. Any ideas?

thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-25-06, 10:23 AM
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: gulf coast
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
try this

Have you installed a custom version of Internet Explorer and now find you can no longer change your HomePage setting ? here's how to fix it ! Click on "start", then "run". type in regedit then click on "ok". Expand the following folders ... HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel. In the right hand pane find the value for "HomePage", double click on it and enter a 0 (zero) in the "value data" box. close the registry editor and you should now have re-enabled the option to change your homepage. (may require a re-boot for changes to take effect).


also check you spybot in the advanced mode ie tweaks and make sure that lock ie control panel against opening from within ie (current user0
 
  #3  
Old 04-25-06, 12:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 140
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks, but homepage is fine when opening IE. Problem is in going to other sites by typing in address in address bar. Address bar accepts the typing, but will not accept the "enter" command to go to site requested
 
  #4  
Old 04-25-06, 03:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nc
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try the system restore to restore your system to an earlier date, such as a week ago, before the problem began happening. Go to start-all programs-accessories-system tools-system restore. From there, you can pick a date to have your computer return to when it was working. You'll lose whatever system changes were made since then, but you can undo the restore if you want.

Or try out the Firefox browser at http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/
It functions very similar to IE and has more features, faster speed, and better security.
 
  #5  
Old 04-25-06, 08:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with Jeff about using FF instead of IE, but if IE is your preference ..... just googled it and found these in the first 5 hits :

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/archi...p/t-19026.html

also

http://www.computing.net/windows2000...rum/63172.html


My money would be on an anti-spyware app locking it accidentally, perhaps in an attempt to keep your home page from being hijacked.


Paul
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-06, 07:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 140
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks, guys


Previously tried restore, to no avail. In fact, couldn't get XP to restore at various previous dates.

Will check spybot advanced mode settings.
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-06, 03:29 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
help maybe

Have a look at this under symptoms its an update gone bad for some

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/918165#kb1
 
  #8  
Old 04-27-06, 10:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: FL USA
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Friend of mine recently had a home computer get badly infected (to the point of him having to reinstall XP) while using AVG. I recommend doing away with AVG, spend the $50 for Norton Antivirus. But first, reinstall your Win XP (the ONLY way to really know that it is clean from viruses).
 
  #9  
Old 04-27-06, 11:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
IMHO, AVG Free is a great anti-virus. Every bit as good as Norton (better, in my opinion), just without all the bells and whistles. Been using it for a couple of years now.
 
  #10  
Old 04-28-06, 07:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 140
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks everyone...it did turn out to be a bad Windows update.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: