computer recommendations

Old 06-09-06, 06:16 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
computer recommendations

I have given up trying to fix my present computer myself,and to have it analyzed and labor to repair will be over $150. Its just your everyday basic 4 yr. old computer.
I'm looking at acomputer bundle package from Dell, Dimension 1100,with some upgrades,and a compaq Presario SR1811nx-b.
These are desk tops. Both are in the $500 range. Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 06-09-06, 06:29 AM
I'm not a confusor pro but have owned both. Alot of my friends are totally against Compaq but I have owned 2 of them for home use and they were great with no problems. My current is a Dell Diminsion and I've now owned it for a year and it's been trouble free. Actually I like it a lot. I paid extra and had XP Pro installed and many other bells and whistles.

I know this don't help you make a choice but whichever one you choose as long as you keep the viruses out and keep it maintained I think you'll be fine with either one.

Old 06-09-06, 07:06 AM
I appreciate your input. I have a Compaq Presario now and don't have any real complaints other than it needs to be upgraded,and is not functioning properly. Dell seems to the choice of many. These computers are entry level that can be upgraded. The both have DVD burn and read capability,160 GB
hard drive,512 mb memory,and better processors than my present system ,so you can see what level of computer i need.

Old 06-09-06, 07:54 AM
I buy nothing but Dell computers.

You didn't post too many specifics, but here are my recommendations.

At least 1 gigabyte of memory.

A Pentium or AMD processor. Not a celeron under ANY circumstances.

A DVD+-RW drive and a DVD-ROM drive.

At least 160 gigabyte hard drive.

Separate video card with it's own memory.

Old 06-09-06, 09:36 AM
Thanks,
Thats the kind of info i'm looking for.