Internet connection-modemn

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-06, 08:43 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Internet connection-modemn

Does the modemn need to boot up first before you switch your processor on I always turn everything on at once then I find i have to repair my Internet connection in settings?
I believe the problem was the modemn needs time to boot up first what you all say?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-06, 08:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 929
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What kind of 'modem?'

If it is a DSL device (commonly misnamed a modem) then yes, it MUST be started first.

If it is a real dial up external modem then it should not make a difference although it could if your OS is a plug n play aware OS. However, an external modem would surely complete it's boot sequence prior to the computer OS so again, it shouldn't make a difference due to that.

My guess is that you have DSL and are calling your DSL CSU a 'modem' so it definately needs to complete it's start up first.
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-06, 09:07 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DSL connection-yes

yes I have a dsl connection and I got my modemn from sasktel
I am on high speed light
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-06, 04:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is modem ( no N), and still is a modem for DSL, it just works at higher frequencies.

Typicaly, you should tun the modem on first.
 
  #5  
Old 06-12-06, 10:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Midwest
Posts: 80
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2x2,

Why are you turning off your DSL modem in the first place? Heck, just leave it on all the time. I've had the same one running for years - no problems doing that. As the others said, the DSL modem must be on before you boot the computer. The computer picks up an IP address from the modem as part of the boot process.

Good Luck,
Joe Michel
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-06, 07:46 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

Thanks everything understood now yes I'll keep the modemn on all time
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: