wireless broadband setup

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-06, 08:44 AM
HotBacon's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Shillington, PA
Posts: 153
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wireless broadband setup

Is there a way to setup up a wireless router w/o hard wiring it directly to a PC? Due to a lack of cable outlets in our home office, I was hoping to set up a wireless router at a convenient location and use the wireless capabilities to connect to the cable modem using the PC in our office. Is this possible or am I stuck w/ moving the PC or paying to have a new cable outlet installed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-06, 09:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generally speaking, you must connect a computer to the wireless router to initially configure it. However, once it is configured you can then move it anywhere.

This means that you could either:

Temporarily move a computer to the router location and configure the router.

OR

Temporarily move the router to a computer and configure the router.
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-06, 09:33 AM
HotBacon's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Shillington, PA
Posts: 153
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's exactly the reply I was hoping for, but wasn't sure if the router needed to stay conneccted. Thanks for the good news!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: