New Internet Explorer

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-21-06, 01:06 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,859
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
New Internet Explorer

Anybody else trying out the IE7 Beta? I just started and so far so good and I rather like it.

[Foxfire and Mozilla people, I already know what you think].
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-21-06, 01:26 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
So far I'm not real thrilled. I'm on dial up and the old version was much more patient when loading several pages at once, the new one gives up and places the little red x a lot more quickly. Also, can take a couple minutes to open a new window, which is something I do a lot with this site. I'm considering uninstalling to see if the performance improves.
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-06, 01:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't like spyware sorry. :P
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-06, 01:54 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
Originally Posted by 4th and 1
I don't like spyware sorry.
Huh? I don't understand.
 
  #5  
Old 09-21-06, 03:35 PM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A tongue-in-cheek quip.. I don't like IE either..

Microsoft has implemented "Tabbed Browsing" in IE 7, but I don't think they got it right.. The program is slower according to others I have talked with..
 
  #6  
Old 09-21-06, 04:30 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
I certainly agree that it's slower and the tabs don't really do anything for me anyway.
 
  #7  
Old 09-22-06, 06:39 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how do I get?

Can I run it with windows xp? How does one get this ?will a update get it? or will a person need a new download?
 
  #8  
Old 09-22-06, 07:32 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ie7

I just finished downloading IE7 off the Internet
so far so good
 
  #9  
Old 09-22-06, 09:04 PM
frhrwa's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deer Park WA
Posts: 521
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
not sure if I like it or dislike it.. too new I guess... they changed location of things, changed icons so you have to hunt for what used be "sacred".. I guess I'll get used to it.. it is slower for sure.. if I hadn't changed, and I used it on someone elses computer, I probably wouldn't switch, but since I did load it, I'll survive..
 
  #10  
Old 10-03-06, 10:43 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,859
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Well, after about two weeks now I can say I like it BUT it HAS slowed down as mitch points out. More than a little aggravating to have to wait several seconds for a webpage to come up every time. Maybe it will be improved from the beta when it comes out.
 
  #11  
Old 10-03-06, 11:25 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
About to uninstall because I'm tired of the lack of speed. Then I notice I have a serious lack of memory, so I'm going to try adding a stick of RAM first.
 
  #12  
Old 10-03-06, 11:57 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,859
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Don't think it'll matter; I'm running 1.5g of memory.
 
  #13  
Old 10-03-06, 01:20 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
Huh. That's a bummer.
 
  #14  
Old 10-04-06, 08:26 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ie7

I've been running IE7 for a couple weeks now
It's o'k, I'm not really complaining about it being slow my computer is a pretty fast(good) one anyway
 
  #15  
Old 10-05-06, 04:51 AM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am also using the new IE7, now mind you all I'm a firefox user, but I do like IE7 It is pretty speedy actually.
 
  #16  
Old 10-05-06, 06:06 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,426
Received 156 Votes on 138 Posts
Originally Posted by the_tow_guy
a little aggravating to have to wait several seconds for a webpage to come up every time.
Golly, I wish that was all the longer I had to wait with dial up
 
  #17  
Old 10-05-06, 08:35 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,859
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Funny how fast you can get spoiled; I remember when a 9600 modem was THE hot ticket. Think our first 'puter had a 2400 in it.
 
  #18  
Old 10-05-06, 09:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your first computer had a modem? Wow, you're young!
 
  #19  
Old 10-05-06, 10:27 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry

My first one had a 300 modem.. 1200 was a godsend..
Try running IE7 on that..
 
  #20  
Old 10-05-06, 11:07 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,426
Received 156 Votes on 138 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft
Your first computer had a modem? Wow, you're young!

I can't speak for TG but I didn't get my first pc until after I had to retire. Until then the closest I ever got to a computer was to cover it up or move it so I could paint the room.
 
  #21  
Old 10-05-06, 07:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fresno
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have used IE7 beta and am currently using IE7 RC1. I am typically a Firefox user but actually LIKE the new IE. Being a MS Platform programmer, it's very add-in friendly for guys like me.
 
  #22  
Old 10-05-06, 10:11 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft
Your first computer had a modem? Wow, you're young!
My first computer didn't even have a hard drive, let alone a modem.
 
  #23  
Old 10-06-06, 05:51 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,859
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Originally Posted by racraft
Your first computer had a modem? Wow, you're young!
My first PERSONAL one; the "work" ones (USMC) were Zenith 248's - no modem I'm sure and about a 20 mb harddrive (Windows? That's what you throw this $^%*&@ thing out when it doesn't work!)
 
  #24  
Old 10-06-06, 08:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As I said, you're young.
 
  #25  
Old 10-06-06, 12:28 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
Enough of an increase in speed with another stick of RAM that I think I can live with it. I know, I shouldn't even use the word speed when I'm on dial up and I just upgraded to 256 MB of memory.
 
  #26  
Old 10-06-06, 04:59 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,426
Received 156 Votes on 138 Posts
Hey mitch

I recently added 512 ram to my 128 mb ram system and it made a BIG difference. I think it even sped up the dial up some but dial up is still slow
 
  #27  
Old 10-06-06, 05:36 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,393
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
First stick I bought didn't work so I called customer service and we decided it was bad RAM. In the process, I found out I can have 512 MB, not just the 256 MB I thought I could have. Now I have to decide whether it's worth $150 to go from 256 to 512. I'm leaning toward no and just upgrading the computer sooner.
 
  #28  
Old 10-06-06, 06:52 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,859
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Wink

Originally Posted by racraft
As I said, you're young.
I have a slide rule and I know how to use it, grandpa. LOL
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: