Losing voice

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-06, 05:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 516
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Losing voice

Help, I've posted this before without a reply and would really appreciate it if someone could help me.
When on a website and they have something on video I get a broken voice and it skips.
I have a cable connection, the computer was built for me to trade stocks with and I run a program which I no longer do.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-24-06, 05:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Either the computer is not fast enough to process the stream or you do not have enough memory or you do not have the correct drivers installed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-06, 06:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 516
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Racraft, thanks for the reply. My wife is away for the weekend and the spec sheet is in her files.
I will post the pertainent info tomorrow.
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-06, 03:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 516
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Racraft, here are the components that make up my computer.
AMD-K6 3D processor,
220.0 MB RAM
56K modem
I hope this is enough info and we're also running windows 98se
If this is not enough I have a huge list on the bill for the computer but my wife says this should be enough, any help much appreciated.

Here's what happened, I tried to get Clintons interview off Yahoo and it didn't come in properly. My wife got it much better off msnbc website but if there is a way to improve it I would like to do it.

Thanks in advance
 
  #5  
Old 09-26-06, 04:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Like I said, not enough machine to stream video and audio. Try downloading the entire clip, and then you MAY be able to view it. Streaming over a dial up connection with a slow, under powered machine is not going to work.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-06, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 516
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Racraft,

I am hooked up to time warner cable and I live in Manhattan. The machine is a few years old and I'm sure not capable of doing much but is there any way to improve it.

Thanks for your answers and patience.
 
  #7  
Old 09-26-06, 05:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, you didn't say RoadRunner, and you bothered to list the 56K modem, so I assumed dial-up. SOrry.

Additional memory would help, but not a lot. You really need a faster processor and a better OS.
 
  #8  
Old 10-02-06, 07:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 128
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep, that pc has had it. No matter how you might upgrade it, it will never be able to keep up with today's demanding programs if you try to run any.
 
  #9  
Old 10-03-06, 10:21 AM
wgc
wgc is offline
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 362
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is that stock trading program still running?

That hardware is pretty marginal but I have similar (but more memory) and it usually works ok if I am sure that nothing else is running. However a lot of things try to run automatically and it can be surprisingly difficult to not run anything else.

My brother has a stock picking program that seems to always be running something and is difficult to uninstall. If you have something like this and are no longer using it, figuring out how to get rid of it may make a noticeable difference.

However, I do agree with everyone else. If you can get newer hardware you'll get much better results much more easily. I don't think there is a simple upgrade path that is worth it for such an old machine: you'll get better results cheaper by replacing the whole thing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: