Router Intallation

Old 10-06-06, 05:17 AM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile Router Intallation

I'm a residential electrician who (apparently) can operate a computer, but my knowledge is limited as to how they work and interface with other components.
As a example...yesterday I had a customer of mine ask me to re-locate her router from the kitchen to a closet.
There are 2 components. One with a cable (RJ6) input and a CAT5 cable out to the other component (with antennas). The component with antennas has four output jacks for CAT 5 cables, one of which I ran back to the existing kitchen location.
I moved the components, ran a new RJ6 TV cable from her cable service point and attached it to one of the components, ran Cat5 between the two and then ran Cat5 cable from her now re-located router to her old location in the kitchen. I re-connected everything just as I had taken it apart, turned it on and it worked.
I have no idea how it does what it does, and I don't like that feeling.
The customer was led to believe (not by me) that there wouldn't be any cables run back to her kitchen. That the system would be entirely wireless.
Can someone give a brief explanation as to how a router works?
All response appreciated.
steve

Old 10-06-06, 05:36 AM
Group Moderator
Received 173 Upvotes on 135 Posts