Add hard drive

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-07, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,170
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add hard drive

What do I need to know about a computer to buy a compatible internal hard drive? I.e., what info do I need to bring to the store?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-07, 10:19 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,856
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Just the maximum size your motherboard/bios will support. Some older machines may not be able to take a huge hard drive without some tweaking. Other than that, if you have a manual for the computer it should have the pertinent specs in it.

This is an PC rather than an Apple, I'm guessing?
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-07, 10:27 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are keeping the old drive in the machine, there are a couple things to do..
One drive must be set as MASTER w/slave, and the other as SLAVE.. There are shorting pins on the drives to do this.. Master being the boot drive with the OS on it..
You could also set the pins to CS (cable select).. In that case, the drive on the end of the cable will be the Master, or boot drive, and the other will be the Slave..

After you finish installing the drive, as single or dual drives, boot to the BIOS to make sure it sees the new drive.. You might have to tell the BIOS to search for drives to do this, but many newer machines will see them automatically..
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-07, 10:50 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also, see if your motherboard has SATA capabilities.
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-07, 02:28 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,387
Received 57 Votes on 54 Posts
Not a bad idea to have the tower along as well if the store employees handle any details of installation, as you made need cables or a rack to put the new drive on (I needed both).
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-07, 05:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,170
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a PC, a Dell, bought in the last 2-3 years.
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-07, 11:05 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,856
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
HD bad or just upgrading to a bigger one?
 
  #8  
Old 01-07-07, 02:13 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,387
Received 57 Votes on 54 Posts
Huh. I assumed you were adding another hard drive. TG's post has me wondering whether you're replacing instead.
 
  #9  
Old 01-07-07, 02:25 PM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
He hasn't said..
 
  #10  
Old 01-07-07, 04:18 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,856
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Hmm, maybe I got fooled; I was assuming replacement.
 
  #11  
Old 01-07-07, 07:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,170
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, not a replacement - an additional drive in an empty bay.
 
  #12  
Old 01-08-07, 06:54 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,387
Received 57 Votes on 54 Posts
OK. I stand by my original post, except that with a Dell, I believe your odds of already having everything you need inside the computer are better than mine were.
 
  #13  
Old 01-08-07, 11:24 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,856
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
My bust; should have noted the word "Add" in the original post.
 
  #14  
Old 01-08-07, 05:25 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you need to know if it's IDE, SATA, or SCSI, and which type is available on your motherboard. Consult your documentation or Dell to see which you need/can have.
 
  #15  
Old 01-10-07, 05:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Better off getting an external HD. No installation worries & you don't lose it when you get a new computer.
 
  #16  
Old 01-10-07, 07:17 PM
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,130
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add hard drive

If you buy a hard drive, buy a big one since the cost difference in not that much. You may want your new drive to be the master and larger than your old or vice-versa.

My mother board died and I was forced to buy a new desktop computer. The old 175 GB with data just went into the new computer with a 200 GB drive. - Have a lot of graphics!! It sure is a luxury and I use it as a secondary back-up that I back up frequently between major back-ups that I store separately.

Dick
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: