adding RAM

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-07, 11:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wv
Posts: 399
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding RAM

Are there already posts dealing with this? If so, please, if you would direct me to them, Thanks......... If not I could use your help.

What are the steps to upgrading the ram on computers, where do I buy the hardware or software,how much is enough, and how to install..... thanks for your help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-11-07, 12:49 PM
kchinth's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding RAM is fairly easy. The main thing to make sure, is that you buy the correct kind and size. Easiest way to find that out, is to look on the support page for your computer. So goto Dell, HP, etc. and bring up the support page for your computer. It should have a page with details about the memory (RAM). It should tell you how many slots you have, what is in each slot by default, what the maximum per slot is, and what the overall maximum is. If you can't find this information, post your model # and I will look it up.

Best place to buy ram, in my opinion, is newegg.com. They have good prices and fast shipping. There are other sites too, like tigerdirect.com, buy.com, etc. You would need to buy the same type (I.E. DDR 3200, SDRAM, PC 133, etc.). Once again, if you tell us how much RAM you want, we can point you to some that is compatible with your computer.

Installation is very easy. Unplug the computer. Open the case. There will be several slots that hold the RAM. You just insert the new RAM in one of the slots.

There are many websites with pictures and more detailed instructions:

http://www.helpwithpcs.com/upgrading/installing_dimm_memory_ram.htm
http://www.lifehacker.com/software/feature/hack-attack-how-to-install-ram-138665.php
http://www.ehow.com/how_895_install-ram.html
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-07, 12:52 PM
kchinth's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Determining how much is enough is hard. What do you use the computer for, what operating system, what typical applications do you run, etc.?

If you run Windows XP, I would say 512MB is minimum. I currently have 1GB at home and 2GB at work.
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-07, 02:11 PM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You could also go to the RAM manuf. web site and use their RAM guides to find what you need.. Look on your motherboard for the make, model, and version numbers..
I have 2gig OCZ ram in my machine, and am more than happy with it..
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-07, 02:46 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,414
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
Assuming capacity available to upgrade, there's just about nothing that will speed your computer up more than adding RAM. Can get a little spendy, but I like to have the max my machine can take. Sadly, that's 256MB on this thing.
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-07, 06:27 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I just bumped this Inspiron 1000 from 256 to 512 by ebaying at a cost of about $35 for a single 512 card. I agree 512 with XP is a must.
 
  #7  
Old 01-12-07, 08:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check www.crucial.com , I buy all my memory from them, it's guaranteed to work and I haven't found any better pricing.
 
  #8  
Old 01-12-07, 11:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by formula View Post
Check www.crucial.com , I buy all my memory from them, it's guaranteed to work and I haven't found any better pricing.
Actually, I found a better price yesterday at Staple's. I got a 512MB DDR PC3200 stick for my Dell Dimension B110. After instant and mail-in rebates, it was about $48 with tax.
 
  #9  
Old 01-12-07, 04:24 PM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 540
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi:
I posted the thread as to 'memory' on this board when I found this site for the first time. One or two responsers provided me with the very detailed instruction, then I did perform fairly well on adding memory.

One of the computers has only 256 memory, then certainly I needed to work on this, even though I was very scared and first off a complete-novice on this. However, as having followed the detailed instruction, I successfully completed the task.

As to buying memory/ram, I purchased it from CircuitCity where one of sales guys directed me a right memory/ram for my computer. In my opinion through the experience, it's better if someone would help you to pick a correct memory, because there are similar ones on the shelf that might confuse you. At least, that was in my case.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: