Network performance testing


  #1  
Old 01-30-07, 01:26 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Network performance testing

I just added 2 PC's to my router ( which i forgot the password to access ) and have them networked together. All seems fine , however i would like to know if there is any software i can use to test the speed from the host pc to the 2 client pc's. I would like to be sure everything has a good connection and the performace isn't diminished in any way. If so i would redo the connection untill i get it perfect.
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-07, 05:43 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 887
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transfer a huge file (1gig+)from one to the other and time it with a stop watch.. Then do the math.. OR Google network speed test ..
 
  #3  
Old 01-30-07, 05:47 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
And just what would you redo? Either the connection is there or it isn't. While it might be intermittent, you would notice that.
 
  #4  
Old 01-30-07, 08:27 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Redo

Racraft:

And just what would you redo? Either the connection is there or it isn't. While it might be intermittent, you would notice that.

When i said "redo" i'm sure you know i was refering to resecuring all connections to their corresponding jacks. This is the first time i wired
any Cat5. I'm sure your already aware that testers are very expensive
for this sort of thing and HEY why do they even make them "Either the connection is there or it isn't" right?

From your reply i gather you don't feel my post is worthy of a response ,so i ask, why bother to reply. I hate to come across comments like this, i've seen it many times on other forums when people ask quesitons they either get flammed,ridiculed or have thier questions answered with a question.
 
  #5  
Old 01-30-07, 08:45 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you can always use the ping command .
 
  #6  
Old 01-30-07, 09:00 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Phe0nix,

I am sorry you don't like my response. My point is this. If your connection works, there is nothing to redo. If your connection is intermittent then you will notice that fairly quickly in normal use. If your connection does not work, then it does not work, and you would have already noticed that.

Don't redo connections to make them better. Redo them to repair them.

As for speed, all tests are relative. Even if you know the speed, what are you going to compare it to? Without a baseline, you have nothing to compare it to. The speed is dependent on so many things.
 
  #7  
Old 01-30-07, 06:59 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Performance

Thanks Mango Man for using the term "Ping" i didn't think of that when i googled, i was using the words test,benchmark and speed as well as a few others. I ran across "perfping" which transfers the size file of your choosing from one PC to another and draws a graph and you can see just how fast the transfers are. It shows you the speed in KBit/s,MBit/s and GBit/s and will also give you your avg speed. This test is called "PerCopy" and there are also 2 other tests you can perform.

I ran 2 network cables one of which i had a hard time with when using the puch tool, it didn't want to set the wires so i had to use a knife and needle nose pliers. I wanted too sure about this cable installation. When i compaired the speed between the 2 PC's that i ran the RJ45 to the one i did manually was always querky. I added a PCI NIC card to replace the intergraded one that i was using and now the performace has dramatically imporved. I suppose it could have also been driver issues, either way the transfer results from perfping are just about equal now.

Thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: