Recovery

Old 02-21-07, 11:05 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Recovery

Good afternoon. I am afraid that I will have to do a complete system recovery with my Windows XP Home edition. I have never done this before with XP. I know that there are two kinds of recovery, a Destructive, and a System . The Destructive is self explanitory, but what is the difference to System. I do not and cannot obtain the recovery CD's needed so I will have to do it from Windows XP. I have already backed up my documents to CD. What else do I need to know to do this task. I am somewhat nervous about this so any plain english advice would be welcomed. Thank you in advance for your help

Sponsored Links
Old 02-21-07, 12:01 PM
You need a Windows XP Home CD, preferably one from the computer manufacturer. If you did not get one when you bought the computer contact the manufacturer. You can probably buy one from them for a few dollars.

Reminder to everyone purchasing a new computer. Insist on a a full installation Windows CD when you buy the system, even if you have to pay extra for it.

Old 02-22-07, 12:32 PM
Hi:
If your pc is made by the HP/Compaq, then there is no need to get the CD for its re-installation. Inside the PC, there is 'Recovery,' .... believing it's called, 'HP recovery D.'

Also, look at the HP web-site below;
"Compaq Presario Desktop PCs - How to Perform a System Recovery"
There is a detailed explanation on this.

Aside from this, try to look at the 'Hp help and Tools' < Programs < at Start.

In the past, about two years ago, I did uninstall and install Windows XP by following the web-site, above along with a good tip/help from the HP - tech. It was NOT hard at all, but in the end, I needed to re-install all of softwares that took me many hours.

Before doing this, ... have you done 'System Restore' that helped me at some point where the issue was minor.

Old 02-27-07, 06:15 AM