Eliminate ramdrive

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-07, 08:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 296
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Eliminate ramdrive

I have a standard Win98 boot disk and I would like to be able to use it to boot to DOS but I don't want it to load the Ramdrive stuff, is it possible?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-07, 11:16 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you can go here and download a version without it:

http://www.allbootdisks.com/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=42&func=fileinfo&parent=folder&filecatid=1867

or here for several versions without it:
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-07, 06:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The ram drive is loaded in the autoexec.bat or config.sys file (it's been so long that I forget which file). Edit the correct file and "rem" out the line that has the ramdrive entry on it.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-07, 06:44 AM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 539
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi:
One of older computers has still '98, that keeps in the attic. It's a good '98 and have a very fond memory, but I forced to change to XP long time ago and got to like it.

Try to look at the following MS sites;

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/newsgroups/reader.mspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsxp.security_admin
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-07, 06:54 AM
PineCone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern US
Posts: 539
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi:
I think the site, below is easy access and more proper for '98, rather than MS-sites I stated in my previous post.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/newsgroups/reader.mspx?dg=microsoft.public.win98.disks.general&lang=en&cr=US
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-07, 08:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 296
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks guys, i'll give it all a try.

What I'm trying to accomplish is to play some of my older DOS based games. Since I have XP, I installed Win98 (dual-boot) so I could have a DOS platform also. Problem is when I boot to Dos, the Ramdrive loads, and my games need to see the CD-rom as drive D:, where of cource the ramdrive loads itself.

I deduce that if i get rid of the ramdrive my computer will load cd-rom drivers to D: like its supposed to.
 
  #7  
Old 02-25-07, 08:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,778
Received 84 Votes on 77 Posts
Edit the Autoexec.bat or Config.sys files. It is a program that is loading at boot up.
 
  #8  
Old 02-25-07, 01:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Or instead of removing the ram drive, change it's drive letter. Or force the CD to be drive D.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: