slave hard drive

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-18-07, 11:37 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
slave hard drive

How do I connect one laptop (A) to another laptop (B) so that I can access the data on laptop B on my laptop A. Laptop B will not boot up but is running.
Thanks,
 
  #2  
Old 04-18-07, 12:01 PM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 887
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it doesn't boot, you won't be able to connect to it..

Does B have a CD or floppy drive? You can create a bootable disc to get it started..
 
  #3  
Old 04-18-07, 02:05 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,034
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Axl is right.

If your computers fans are running but nothing on the screen, you got some deeper issues going on.

Does the screen work? Do you see the BIOS information when you are booting up?

You have to set all the file sharing up on the machine that is not working first in order to salvage any info on the hardrive.
 
  #4  
Old 04-18-07, 05:18 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,467
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
or pull the drive out of it and get an external drive bay, and set it up as a secondary/slave drive to access any info from it, providing it will spin up. have you tried reinstalling the operating system to it? will it boot to floppy or cd?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: