Dual Display Set-up

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-09-07, 07:54 AM
JimN's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Dual Display Set-up

I would like to add a 2nd monitor to my computer and have it double my workspace. I am NOT looking to just have the same image on both screens, but rather have the mouse flow through both as if it is all 1 screen.

I have a 2 year old Dell Dimension, with win XP loaded. I currently have 1 flat screen plugged into the VGA jack on the back of the computer.

If I just buy a second basic PCI video card and a 2nd flatscreen and install them both. Will I end up with both monitors acting as 1 double wide work space?

OR do I need to buy a more expensive PCI video card that already has 2 VGA jacks on it. Then plug both monitors into the new card, to get the desired double work space?


Any thoughts would be helpful.
Thanks Jim
 

Last edited by JimN; 08-09-07 at 07:55 AM. Reason: Spelling correction
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-09-07, 08:32 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've never tried it with 2 video cards, but I have 2 displays on my system using 1 card.. It can be a hit or miss thing according to:
http://freepctech.com/pc/001/guide_dual_monitors.shtml
 
  #3  
Old 08-09-07, 09:27 AM
JimN's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dual Display

Thanks for the article, I will try using a 2nd PCI card with 1 VGA port.

Jim
 
  #4  
Old 08-09-07, 08:40 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've never gotten it working using an add-in PCI card along with the onboard VGA card, but that doesn't mean it's not possible. Dual-head cards aren't very expensive, and the decent ones even come with utility software to help things work smoothly (for example, maybe you want a certain program to always open in the right-hand monitor, or auto-resize a window so it only fills one screen). Normally to get the new PCI card to work you'll have to disable the onboard one completely.

I have an nVidia card that spans my desktop across two 20" LCD monitors and trust me, you'll get spoiled in a hurry.
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-07, 09:20 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,084
Received 23 Votes on 22 Posts
I have been doing this for many years using relatively inexpensive VGA cards that support dual monitors.
The feature you want to use is extended desktop.
Most cards have one digital and one analog output that just uses an adapter for the digital output if you have two analog monitors.

I am not home and don't remember the model of the one I am using in my main computer but it supports high def TV as well as dual monitor and was only a bit over $100.00.

I am using a single monitor where I am now and really miss the second one.
 
  #6  
Old 08-16-07, 09:07 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 222
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've been doing it for several years, using an AGP card and a PCI card while running Windows ME. Works for me.

Nashcat
 
  #7  
Old 08-18-07, 11:58 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
here's a link to a cheap card that works great for doing it...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133007
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: