Fresh Start For Home Network

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-31-07, 05:05 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fresh Start For Home Network

After a few days of trying to fix my home network (2 computers / router ... internet works OK but neither machine is visible to the other in Explorer), I believe I have made things worse. I spent a bunch of time reading about where I went wrong & have come to the conclusion that it would be best to clean everything out & let the XP Network Wizard set things up properly. A couple of questions:

1) I'm confused about what is listed under 'My Network Connections'. There is a 'Local Area Connection ... Realtek PCI Fast Ethernet NIC. This is the internal network card that connects to the router ... right?

The second listing is '1394 Connection' ... is this my cable modem? If 'yes', should I leave that connection alone?

2) How do I start fresh? I know I can disable one or both of these connections but is it right to think that I should delete one or the other?

Should I uninstall the services attached to the connection?

Obviously confused,

Editor
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-31-07, 06:22 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As usual, Google helps;
From http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307736#ggviewer-offsite-nav-9121832

Windows XP provides support for Internet Protocol (IP) networking over the IEEE 1394 bus. The interface is listed in the Network Connections folder as "1394 Connection". Internet Protocol (IP) over Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE) 1394 does not require a network adapter, but can be connected only to other 1394 interfaces; you cannot directly connect a 1394 cable to an Ethernet hub.

Windows XP requires an OHCI IEEE 1394 interface to enable IP over 1394. When the 1394 interface is installed, Windows XP creates a 1394 Connection in the Network Connections folder. You can modify Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) configuration settings by using the properties for this connection. To create a network by using IP over 1394 support, connect two Windows XP computers with IEEE 1394 ports together with a 1394 cable. While this connection is present, Ipconfig.exe displays the interface as 1394 Connection.

Yes, the Realtek card connects to the router..
You can turn off the 1394 in BIOS..
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-07, 07:06 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Axl. I just talked with our IT guy here at work and he asked "1394 is sometimes Firewire ... do you have any Firewire devices?" I do, a Creative sound card with a Firewire connector. His and your answers suggest I just leave that listing alone.

I think part of my confusion stemmed from the 'PCI' designation of the Local Are Connection. My computer is an eMachine with an onboard NIC. The IT guy explained that Windows will still list it as if it were plugged into a PCI slot.

Is it a good idea to uninstall the services attached to the other (Local Area) connection in order to start from scratch?
 

Last edited by Editor; 08-31-07 at 07:10 AM. Reason: more info
  #4  
Old 08-31-07, 09:02 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have the 2 PC's ever 'seen' each other? If they are both plugged into the same router and able to connect to the internet nothing needs to be done at the interface level. The two main things that prevent computers from seeing each other is they don't have file/print sharing enabled and/or they are in different workgroups. To check the workgroup:

right click My Computer -> Properties -> Computer Name -> make sure both computers are in the same workgroup. If not click on 'Change Name' and follow the instructions.

To verify file/print sharing: right click on the 'Local Area Connection' in Network connection. Make sure file/print sharing is checked.

Scott
 
  #5  
Old 08-31-07, 05:17 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"Have the 2 PC's ever 'seen' each other?"

Yes, I have had the network up & running for about 8 months with no problems. A couple of days ago, I installed a new printer (no printer in use before this) & wanted to make it available to both computers. Something must have occurred during the printer install -- I saw an error message stating that 'TCP/IP is not functioning ...'.

The 2 computers are named simply 'Upstairs' & 'Downstairs'. Both are in the same group ( "Workgroup" ) Presently, the 'Upstairs' machine 'sees' the 'Downstairs' computer but not vice versa. On 'Downstairs', when I try to explore the connection I get the error "You might not have permission to access ... the path was not found". I have pinged each machine from each machine ... timely replies ... OK. Internet connection on both computers is OK as well.

"To verify file/print sharing: right click on the 'Local Area Connection' in Network connection. Make sure file/print sharing is checked."

When I right-click on 'Local Area Connection', I don't see a check box for this. I do see the "This connection uses the following items:" & when I highlight 'File & Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks', the 'Install' button is available. I have been installing/uninstalling the 'Client/Service/Protocol' options on 'TCP/IP' & 'File & Printer Sharing' for the past few days in the hope that I will hit on the right combination.

Note: Both computers see each other in Explorer/My Network as I type this (been doing some fiddling) but I am still not sure what happened or how I fixed it.

Sorry to use up bandwidth on this problem but it is frustrating. I have been to a dozen sites & read everything available. It would seem I am doing the right things but the results are not evident.
 
  #6  
Old 09-01-07, 04:48 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a note to say that the problem is solved. Somehow, the 'Upstairs' computer's IP address removed itself from the 'Downstairs' Zone Alarm Trusted Zone. I have no idea how that could have happened but once I restored it, everything works fine.

Thanks Ax & Bel for the replies
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: