Virtual Drives?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-06-07, 04:40 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Virtual Drives?

There are 2 drives showing on my system that look like CD's or DVD's. I'm not quite sure how they got there -- I believe they showed up when I was exporting some of my video projects but I'm not positive since I'm still a bit new to DVD work. I think there was an option to 'burn image to hard drive' or something like that (I said 'yes' to everything to make sure I got what I needed).

Anyway, from what I've read, they would seem to be 'virtual drives'. Are they eating up any resources just sitting there idle? Can they be removed? If so, is it done through Control Panel/System/Hardware? (right-clicking just gives me 'eject' as an option)

Windows XP Pro is my OS.
 

Last edited by Editor; 09-06-07 at 04:42 PM. Reason: bad grammar/spelling
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-07, 06:05 PM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you using Nero or Alcohol? They create virtual drives that you can mount a disc image to (DVD or CD) and they will work just like you had a disc in the drive.. I have several virtual drives that I mount my gaming CD images on.. That way I don't have to drag out a CD to play a game such as Battlefield..
They will show up in "My Computer" as SCSI drives..
When you right click on one, see if it says "Mount image" or "Unmount image"..
 
  #3  
Old 09-07-07, 08:21 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, using Nero. As I recollect (I'm at work right now), the only option I see is 'Eject'.

So, if I were to have an Image Folder, I could just drag it to one of the virtual drives? I can see where that might be handy.
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-07, 09:15 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Open Nero StartSmart, scroll down to Nero Imagedrive and click on that.. See if it's enabled..

It's not a matter of dragging a folder to the virtual drive, but mounting a disk image to it..
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-07, 04:48 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, I think I understand now. Thanks Axl
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: