Netgear Router??

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-07-07, 06:37 PM
diyplank's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Williamsport
Posts: 732
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Netgear Router??

I currently have a Westell router that came with my Verizon DSL set up. My mother in law got a free Netgear router when she bought her new computer. Is it worth installing and hooking up the new netgear router vs. keeping the one I have now?? Will my laptop which runs off the router run any faster or get better range?? Also if I am on my laptop one night for a little and the next night I wanna get on, I have to go and turn my westell router off and turn it back on for me to be able to get a connection through my laptop!? Why is that?? Thanks
Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-07-07, 07:50 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think you will find that the Westell router is also a DSL modem. A Netgear router is not a modem, so you cannot simply replace one for the other.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-07, 07:44 PM
diyplank's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Williamsport
Posts: 732
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I have a modem but it is in my computer! Correct??!??? I am confused now. The phone line comes into the router then an ethernet cable from my router to my computer(modem)???? I just don't wanna risk changing over and not being able to get the internet to work!! I am not to knowledgeable with networking. Confusing to me. The problem I have now is when I go to get on my laptop in the living room (my wireless router is about 25ft. away) sometime it won't connect, so I have to go and shut off the router and then it will connect. It is wierd. Have any ideas why this is doing that?? Also I will be on the net on my laptop and it will just disconnect, I have to go into my security settings and retype my security password!!!!! Its frustrating. I also can't get my 2 computers to share files with one another. The problem there is my new laptop is running vista and my desktop which the router is connected to is running XP. I have heard there are problems with them working together. THanks for the info.
Chris
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-07, 07:52 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, your computer has a NIC (network interface card).

Your connection comes from the phone jack, into your DSL modem, and then from modem to your computer NIC.

I think with DSL, the modem/router are in one device?
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-07, 09:18 PM
diyplank's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Williamsport
Posts: 732
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
So this Netgear router won't work? I AM WAY CONFUSED NOW!! LOL The model number is WGR614. I looked on some websites and couldn't determine if it was both??
 
  #6  
Old 09-09-07, 04:11 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The Netgear device is a cable/DSL modem and router that can be configured to work with your Verizon DSL. Difference is, your Westell DSL modem/router was made specifically for Verizon. IMO they are equally capable, so you won't see any advantage by using the Netgear.

If you visit the Verizon website's Help section you'll find all kinds of info about setting up your router. (Including security settings, which are very important!)
 
  #7  
Old 09-09-07, 06:01 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The modem (which stands for MOdulator/DEModulator) is the piece of the puzzle that translates the telephone (or coax cable or ???) signals into a language that can be understood by another device.

The modem in your computer (if you have one) translates normal telephone signals into language for your computer. It would be used for dial up connections to the Internet or directly to some other computer.

In order to use DSL you need a modem. This is usually supplied by your DSL provider. Years ago (when I got DSL) they provided a modem which had a single Ethernet connection. The device was not a router, and in order to connect up more computers (or get any sort of firewall protection) you had to add your own router. Later they began supplying combination DSL modems and routers. A single device would handle both functions.

Some Netgear (and other) routers come with built in cable modems and/or DSL modems. From what I can find on the Netgear website, the WGR614 does NOT include a DSL modem.

You need to find a router that includes a DSL modem, or contact your DSL provider and ask them for one.

Your issue with XP communicating with Vista is because of permissions and setup on each PC. Your problem with the wireless PC losing it's connection may be because of placement of the Wireless router, or it may be a laptop issue. Does the laptop have trouble connecting to any other wireless networks? Do other wireless devices have trouble connecting to your router?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: