"Program Not Responding"

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-20-07, 06:00 PM
Mark_MS's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 117
Angry "Program Not Responding"

I have Windows XP Home edition and for a while now, about 6 months, I will go to a site and it will load real slow, so slow I pull up the Program Manager and it tells me that program is not responding so I terminate what I am trying to get into.
What causes this?? and what can be done to alleviate this??

Thanx,

Mark_ms
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-20-07, 06:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Which program is it that is not responding?
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-07, 06:55 PM
Mark_MS's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 117
Ya know I haven't been paying attention when it happens again I will make note of it.....sorry


Mark_ms
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-07, 09:12 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,221
Likes Received: 34
Sounds like it's IE that's not responding.
 
  #5  
Old 12-21-07, 04:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
if it is IE, switch to Firefox. I rarley get that with firefox, and then it is me trying to run too many programs.
 
  #6  
Old 12-21-07, 04:31 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Does it hang up at a certain website, or any website?
 
  #7  
Old 12-21-07, 05:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
About two weeks ago every machine in our system got a MS automatic update that caused all kinds of issues with IE. "We're sorry, but Internet Explorer encountered a problem and needs to close..."

At least they have the courtesy to apologize.

This may not be the cause of your problem, but uninstalling the update solved ours.
 
  #8  
Old 12-21-07, 06:23 AM
Mark_MS's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 117
"Sounds like it's IE that's not responding."
I do have IE7.

"Does it hang up at a certain website or any website"
It seems to be random when it does it.

Sounds like maybe Firefox is the way to go.......or an earlier version of IE.


Mark_ms
 
  #9  
Old 12-21-07, 12:09 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,221
Likes Received: 34
I liked IE6 better than 7, but still good enough that I haven't yet switched to Firefox.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes