hard drive partition

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-07, 09:30 AM
CMil's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States of America
Posts: 432
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hard drive partition

please help! I've installed a used 10GB Western Digital hard drive in my homebuilt computer. When I power up, I am prompted to choose between Windows XP (which I installed and always select) and Windows 2000 pro (which was on the drive when I acquired it). And when XP starts, I only have about 4GB on the drive. How can I clean off and remove the 2000 partition and restore that space so I can use it? It doesn't seem to take very much to fill up 4 gigs anymore! I would appreciate any/all help. Thanks in advance - Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-07, 11:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Someone was very foolish to give you a drive with anything on it. But that's another issue.

Repartition the hard drive the way you want it, then reformat it and install the operating system you have a license for.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-07, 10:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with the above poster, as if you attempt to delete the windows 2k partition you are going to remove windows boot loader and your system will not know that the XP partition exists... it will not boot.
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-07, 07:11 AM
CMil's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States of America
Posts: 432
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, guys. I've had computers in the past that if you hit the F4 key during start-up, you would be directed to the command prompt (?). At that point you could type in "fdisk" and get access to mess with disk partitions and such. This computer only gets me the command prompt in safe mode, then it doesn't recognize "fdisk" as a valid command. Any ideas? Again, thanks for the help so far. Hope to hear from you soon - Chris
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-07, 07:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to boot from a different source. Boot from the Windows install CD, a floppy disk with an OS on it, or some other source.
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-07, 07:19 AM
CMil's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States of America
Posts: 432
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Bob. Going offline to try it now.
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-07, 09:21 AM
CMil's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States of America
Posts: 432
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
COOL! Got a fresh install of xp and a 10GB hard drive. Thanks, Bob!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: