Linksys Router wont work

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-08-08, 03:00 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Linksys Router wont work

New hard drive old linksys router for my laptop. Set up for Road Runner fine, cannot get router to work. Held reset for 30 sec and still nothing.
Ran disk, redid all the wiring and still nothing.


Desktop is not wireless so I cannot go through the desktop first. Cable to modem, modem to router, router to desktop. Router will not show up or send signal to laptop.


Second problem is I downloaded Mozilla Firefox and now every web page is slow as peanut butter, message comes up that session timed out.

Appreciate the help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-08-08, 03:23 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What does your laptop say? Does it say it's connected to your router?

Have you gone into your router settings to make sure it's broadcasting?

Is it security enabled?
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-08, 03:46 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Laptop wont recognize it.

Cannot get into the router settings for some reason.

I had a password I used but it will not work for some reason. Double checked still wont work.
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-08, 04:33 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you get into your router settings (192.168.0.1) from your desktop? If not, then more advanced things need to be done.

Have you called Linksys? They do have a decent tech support.
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-08, 05:53 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there low end consumer grade items and they do go bad if a reset didn't do it probably time for a new one.

if you reset it , password has defaulted to admin , have you tried that ?
 
  #6  
Old 02-08-08, 09:01 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried everything. Rest password etc, nothing.

Ran out and bought a new one and got it to work ok, BUT, now the latop wont read it being there?

Is it the laptop now that is not reading it?
 
  #7  
Old 02-10-08, 06:41 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What are you doing with the laptop to try and make it connect?

The computer will not just connect to the new router without it being set up.

Your computer is still looking for your old router. You need go into your "network" settings and select "view available networks" and click on your new router.

You really should call Linksys, aka Cisco, and have them walk you through the steps, it will be easier then telling you through a internet forum.
 
  #8  
Old 02-10-08, 08:27 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since you say you replaced the hard drive, have you verified that the laptop has the wireless drivers installed?
 
  #9  
Old 02-11-08, 05:00 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 77
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by chirkware View Post
Since you say you replaced the hard drive, have you verified that the laptop has the wireless drivers installed?
Yes the laptop was used before and connected great.
I havent had a chance to work on the laptop to get it connected, I have time right now so hoping it will work.
Thanks everyone
 
  #10  
Old 03-01-08, 07:38 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking

I once had a netgear router that completely stopped working. No lights, nothing. I ended up getting a bit frustrated and punched it a bit to vent my anger. It started working straight away and has been for the last 5 months! lol:mask:
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: