How to make the (degree) sign?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-19-08, 06:12 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,520
Received 249 Votes on 228 Posts
How to make the (degree) sign?

What keys must you use to make the (degree) sign when using a Windows XP based computer keyboard?

I'm tired of copying and pasting it from elsewhere!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-19-08, 06:25 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Alt+0176. (You hold alt while typing the numbers)

Run 'charmap' to see all the codes.

Personally I always just cheat and type say 72F. Gets you off the hook with being ambiguous with your units, people get what you mean, and you don't have to type cryptic codes.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-08, 08:47 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,520
Received 249 Votes on 228 Posts
Interesting. I came across that same answer while Googling for the answer, and when I tried it in a reply, it didn't work. I'm running Firefox (my preferred browser) and I can never finish 0.... 1.... because the browser went to http://forum.doityourself.com when I hit the alt-1 key.

Something is funny, though... I believe the ALT key is used by the forums here as a shortcut key.
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-08, 09:00 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds to me like your numlock is off. It must be on for this to work.

On firefox if my numlock is off, when I get to the '7' that's really 'Home' and of course navigates me away from the page.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-08, 09:09 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,520
Received 249 Votes on 228 Posts
It's definately a Firefox thing. When using Firefox, the ALT key has some hidden shortcuts here on the forums. Some of them load pages I have never seen before! ALT-1 takes you to the forums index. ALT-2 takes you to the new posts page. ALT-4 takes you to the search page. ALT-5 takes you to the search FAQ's page.

These same shortcuts do not work when using Windows Explorer.
 
  #6  
Old 02-20-08, 05:22 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts


The 1st one was Alt 167 the 2nd was Alt 176.
 
  #7  
Old 02-20-08, 05:35 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ASCII drawings were used for making pictures on Bulletin Board Systems. Millions of those were online before the Internet was opened up to the public. TheDraw was a popular program for making the pictures. More info on ASCII <a href="http://www.jimprice.com/jim-asc.shtml" target="_blank">Here</a>
 
  #8  
Old 02-20-08, 06:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,883
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts





The "0" makes a difference. The first one is alt-0176. The second one is alt-176. The third one is alt-167. the fourth one is alt-0167.
 
  #9  
Old 02-20-08, 03:36 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe that larger one on the 3rd line is called the "Masculine Ordinal Indicator". Sounds umm... "interesting".

If anyone's losing sleep over this (LOL), the leading zero tells it to use the Windows-1252 code page instead of code page 437.

Alt+248
Alt+167
Alt+0176
Alt+0186

Values between 32 and 126 are the same in both code pages.
 
  #10  
Old 02-20-08, 04:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Char 32 is the space bar. Char 126 is the ~ (tilde). All of the other alphaneumerics on the keyboard fall between those two. 127 to this day is not used, and 128 to 255 are "special." The numbers under 32 are commands. 13 is a return, 9 is a tab, 10 is a linefeed, 8 is a backspace, etc.

Takes me back to peeking & poking Basic language programming. To this day, those codes are still valid.

As oneofamill said, ASCII art is a thing to behold. It was a way to express yourself on a text-only billboard when there was no HTML 1.0. No graphics. No long-winded responses (like this one). And personal communication by e-mail was prohibited to conserve bandwidth.

At the time, a 300-baud modem was a screamer.
 
  #11  
Old 02-20-08, 08:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,883
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
300 baud was a basic modem. 1200 was a screamer if you had one.
 
  #12  
Old 02-21-08, 05:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by joed View Post
300 baud was a basic modem. 1200 was a screamer if you had one.
Not when it had just been upgraded from the 150.

Or the 2400 upgrade from 1200 ... and on to the 9600, 14.4k, 28.8k, 33k, 56k, 128k ISDN, and 768k DSL.

FIOS is due to come down the street within a year. That may be one "latest & greatest" I'll buy.
 
  #13  
Old 02-21-08, 06:58 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,841
Received 37 Votes on 29 Posts
You guys are really dating yourselves when you talk about those dinosaurs.
 
  #14  
Old 02-21-08, 07:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,883
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
I had a commodore 64 with a modem. Used to visit bulletin boards. Text only. You typed a command and waited for a response, usually a menu of some sort. Actually I still have the C64.
 
  #15  
Old 02-21-08, 04:04 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If any one misses the old BBS days, they still have them! Telnet-based so you don't have to find a working modem and use up your line. Most of them have all the old door games, same ANSI menus, the whole works. Surprising how popular they still are. Counted over 100 boards in my 'dial' list last time I was getting on them daily -- this was just like 4 years ago.
 
  #16  
Old 02-21-08, 10:23 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's a modem? And what is this baud without the K, of which you speak?




JK. I stil have to use 300 baud modems, so don't laugh. We use them to remotely program alarm control panels. Leaves lots of time for while you wait. just a couple years ago I had one bank in the boonies with an old phone system in the town, it took over a half hour to do a global upload or download.
 
  #17  
Old 02-22-08, 07:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,883
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
Did you ever use the modem where you stuffed the handset from the phone into the two cups?
 
  #18  
Old 02-22-08, 07:53 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Acoustic coupler.

Unfortunately, not me! My first was a 300baud for my Apple //c. It had slots for the rubber feet of my rotary desktop phone though, if that counts.
 
  #19  
Old 02-22-08, 04:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by core View Post
Acoustic coupler.
That was the 150: A box with a couple of pieces of plastic that held a telephone handset.

We knew we were connected by listening to the sequence of aubile tones.

Modems still have speakers. I continue hear that familiar "handshake" when I use my credit card at certain locations that still use modems for CC authorizations.
 
  #20  
Old 02-22-08, 07:57 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,841
Received 37 Votes on 29 Posts
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Did you ever use the modem where you stuffed the handset from the phone into the two cups?
No but I remember using a fax machine like that; the kind with a rotary drum.

Amazing the advances in computer technology in 25 years.
 
  #21  
Old 02-23-08, 05:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by the_tow_guy View Post
Amazing the advances in computer technology in 25 years.
How 'bout the last 60 years? Eniac took up 1800 square feet of floor space and used 160kw to power its 19,000 tubes. It could perform 5,000 additions per second, or 300 multiplications.


Photo Courtesy UPenn
 
  #22  
Old 02-23-08, 05:24 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
160 kW? Judas, you've gotta be kidding me. Seriously. Man that's quite a chunk of energy for a couple of ops per second.

Wish I could reach back in time and lend that guy in the photo my PDA. Would have made his job much easier and saved all those kW from an untimely death.
 
  #23  
Old 02-23-08, 05:35 AM
AxlMyk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 889
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by XSleeper View Post
What keys must you use to make the (degree) sign when using a Windows XP based computer keyboard?

I'm tired of copying and pasting it from elsewhere!
It's a lot easier to simply type 75degF or 30degC.
 
  #24  
Old 02-23-08, 10:56 AM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by AxlMyk View Post
It's a lot easier to simply type 75degF or 30degC.
And it appears to take about the same amount of keystrokes
 
  #25  
Old 02-23-08, 04:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,883
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
Yea but it doesn't look as cool and people think you are some kind of genius to know how to do it.
 
  #26  
Old 02-24-08, 09:40 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,841
Received 37 Votes on 29 Posts
Could cheat:

... o
35

 
  #27  
Old 02-24-08, 10:12 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,841
Received 37 Votes on 29 Posts
Been having trouble with my TV; anybody know where I can find these parts:



 
  #28  
Old 02-24-08, 10:59 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What does your TV have to do with the topic?
Ever hear of Google?
 
  #29  
Old 02-24-08, 11:11 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,841
Received 37 Votes on 29 Posts
Earth humor, ark-ark; I was responding to Rick & Core's posts and other references to obsolete equipment.
 
  #30  
Old 02-24-08, 03:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,637
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
"...obsolete equipment."

I toured a SAGE building back when I was a youngster, amazing. Huge room full of tubes.


A center contained two 55,000 vacuum tube, 32 bit, three megawatt computers. Except for their size and the fact that they consumed more electricity that the City of Moses Lake, they were a lot like circa 1987 personal computers.

Three megawatts. How much would that cost to run at .07218 cents per kWh?

http://www.eskimo.com/~wow-ray/sage28.html
 
  #31  
Old 02-24-08, 06:29 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hang on. I'm lookin' in the attic.

Originally Posted by the_tow_guy View Post
Been having trouble with my TV; anybody know where I can find these parts:



 
  #32  
Old 02-25-08, 11:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did a google search on Alt keycodes. This one shows you the chart should you decide to use other symbols.

Just hold down your alt key and use your number pad to key in the symbol of your choice. ie: ALT + 248 = degree symbol.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Alt_keycodes
 
  #33  
Old 03-07-08, 05:33 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,520
Received 249 Votes on 228 Posts
yeah, seems to have strayed a bit from the original topic. And 20C or 40F doesn't help if you are talking about the degree of an angle.

Funny no one had anything to say about the Firefox shortcuts here on the forum.

hey the_tow_guy... look on ebay for those parts.

Does that radio tube say 5R4? You can google those numbers, as well as the quartz crystal numbers and find some great sites that are for restoring the old radio/tv's.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: