Periodic loss of connection


  #1  
Old 03-16-08, 08:23 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Periodic loss of connection

I have a DSL modem that runs through a D-Link router. On a regular basis, I lose connectivity. The only way to re-establish connectivity is to turn off the modem and unplug the router for a period of time, and then turn the modem back on and plug the router back up. Why do I keep losing connectivity for no apparent reason?
 
  #2  
Old 03-17-08, 03:25 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,203
Received 55 Votes on 51 Posts
I have a wireless modem that happens to be the same frequency as a cordless phone I own.
The modem looses connection when the phone rings or is in use.

Could be your problem as well?
 
  #3  
Old 03-17-08, 03:25 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 8 Votes on 7 Posts
If you are having to reboot both the router and the modem, then it sounds as if you have an initial signal problem. Have you determined your SNR (Signal to noise ratio)? If it is low, then you are either on the fringe area of DSL, or you may not have all your phone lines filtered.
 
  #4  
Old 03-17-08, 07:19 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I check my SNR?

How do I check my snr?
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-08, 07:55 AM
O
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 502
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You buy a $1,000 piece of equipment, then another $2,000 for the training. Or, call your DSL provider, which is what chandler should have said in the first place.
 
  #6  
Old 03-18-08, 11:00 AM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your DSL modem should be able to give you all kinds of juicy stats. Either hit it's IP address with a web browser or log directly into the modem.

My connection here at home does the exact same thing if I overload the thing. I have just given up and learned to live with it. Then again I have cheap equipment. I've heard that using port forwarding and DMZ host settings can make matters worse -- both of which I need.
 
  #7  
Old 03-18-08, 05:09 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by oneofamill View Post
You buy a $1,000 piece of equipment, then another $2,000 for the training. Or, call your DSL provider, which is what chandler should have said in the first place.
Chandler is right, but didn't go into detail.

Type 192.168.1.1 into the Internet Explorer Address Bar and navigate your way to the Diagnostics section of your DSL modem/router. The signal-to-noise ratio (a.k.a. SNR and S/N) at the input of the modem is displayed on your computer screen. For free.
 
  #8  
Old 03-18-08, 05:58 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 8 Votes on 7 Posts
Late getting in. Thanks Rick. I would have never suggested anyone spend that kind of money on diagnostic equipment just to determine a snr you can do for free. But I'll try to do better.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: