No RS232 Serial Port

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-08, 06:54 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No RS232 Serial Port

No question. Just FYI.

Wow. I've know for a while that most laptops do not come with serial ports anymore. For instance with Dell you have to get a Latitude in order to get a serial port.

Now a customer ordered a new dell desktop, and it doesn't have a serial port on it. I know you can convert with a USB, but it's not as reliable, and often takes some finnaggeling to get it working with the program that needs it.

BTW, is that how you spell finnaggeling? Or is it finageling? Finnageling? Finnagling? hmmm, maybe I should just save that word for speech, not writing.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-08, 07:26 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Finagling, according to spell check. Serial ports have gone the way of dinosaurs. Just like the week after I ordered my computer with a zip drive, they were available with disk writers. Go figure.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-08, 07:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can buy a serial port card and install it in the computer.

Finagle.
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-08, 07:42 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are adapters that convert a USB port into a comm port. I use one for my GPS unit.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-08, 08:04 PM
Integrator97's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 570
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I forgot to mention that we are adding a card.

It's something I'll have to watch for though, since alot of our stuff still talks 232. Or 485. Or 422. Or 20 milliamp loop.

BTW, did you know that the RS stands for "recommended standard".
 
  #6  
Old 03-24-08, 05:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's something I'll have to watch for though, since alot of our stuff still talks 232. Or 485. Or 422. Or 20 milliamp loop.
Agreed. Virtually all of the sound products, middleware products, nurse call, school paging, and A/V control systems we install require a direct connection via 232/485. USB adapters simply won't work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: