IE 7 multiple windows

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-30-08, 09:06 AM
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,414
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
IE 7 multiple windows

I use IE 7 and like to have multiple windows open on a site where I'm accessing several different things. On some sites, the window that's loading will pop to the top and cover the window I had been viewing. Any way to disable that?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-30-08, 10:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 977
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How about left click & hold on the new windows blue bar & drag it down far enough to see the old window.......
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-08, 12:06 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 66 Votes on 53 Posts
I do the same thing and it drives me crazy. I wish there was a way to disable it but I don't think so. Sometimes I find it's just better to let all the pages load instead of fighting it, then I can just click on the one I want at that moment.
 
  #4  
Old 03-30-08, 12:24 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
It's called Firefox. Use the pop up blocker, and you're set. In addition if you accidentally shut down the browser, when you bring it up again, it will ask if you want to restore your last session, saving alot of time.
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-08, 01:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 304
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
IE7 supports tabbed browsing, meaning you can have one actual window open, but multiple tabs open under that original window. To do that, when you click a link, right click it, hit open in new tab. Or hit control t and it will open a new tab that you can put an address in the address bar, then you can quickly switch between the different tabs to view the different pages.

Firefox also supports this same feature.
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-08, 04:03 PM
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,414
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
I have deactivated tabbed browsing, I didn't like. It's not a pop-up that's the problem, it's that somewhere in the process of a page loading, it will move to be the top window and cover the one I had been viewing.
 
  #7  
Old 03-30-08, 05:12 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's the way browsers work. You load a new page, it is in front.
 
  #8  
Old 03-30-08, 05:17 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,416
Received 66 Votes on 53 Posts
You know, I notice that not all websites do this, just some, so I figure it's code that's written for that site to force it on top because it wants to be boss and be noticed!
Hmm, I wonder if you minimized the page right away if that would stop it? I gotta try it.
 
  #9  
Old 04-04-08, 07:22 AM
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,414
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
Nope, minimizing the page makes no difference. You're right, though, it's not on all websites.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: