DVD/CD players on computer won't work

Old 04-16-08, 05:42 AM
V
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question DVD/CD players on computer won't work

I took my computer to Best Buy (big mistake!) and had 2 new dvd/cd players installed. 5 people worked on my computer and each did something different...I had all sorts of problems trying to get other programs to work properly when I got the computer back. About a month later, BOTH dvd/cd players stopped working. Everytime I try to put in a cd or dvd, my computer stalls or crashes. I DO NOT want to take it back to Best Buy. Does anyone have a clue as to what my problem may be? Could it be a driver or software problem? I'm not very good with computers but would be willing to try anything to get them working again.

Thanks!

Velvet

Sponsored Links
Old 04-16-08, 06:57 AM
I'm assuming your using windows XP. Go to Start>Control Panel>Admin Tools>Event Viewer. Going there you can see what errors have accured on your PC. If your PC was running "Sluggish" Sounds like a driver issue to me. Would also help knowing what OS your using and your computer specs would also be helpful.

Old 04-16-08, 07:06 AM
O
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I have one of the B.B. tune-up CDs that they use on every PC that comes in. You wouldn't believe what they do to your machine. I've seen problems like you have before, and the only way to get rid of them was to format and reinstall. Sorry, that may not be what you wanted to be told.

Old 04-16-08, 07:37 AM
V
dvd/cd

When I went to Event Viewer - it said - "failed to create empty document" I got the same message when I went to my "device manager" and that has never happened before....

I am using XP..Media Center 2002..I had an update but BB removed it ....My computer is a Pentium 4 SONY, 1 GB ram, 160 HD with also 160 External HD for my pics, videos and music. (not sure what else you might need..what are "computer specs"... )