HP Deskjet 960 prints junk

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-08, 11:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 231
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HP Deskjet 960 prints junk

Somehow I got my HP Deskjet Printer 960 into printing page after page of junk. Each page had only a line or two or random characters. I don't remember what I did, but it finally finished the junk job and is performing ok.

Does anyone have an explaination for this?

If this should happen again, what can I do to get out of this mode?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-08, 11:57 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,834
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1) cancel the print job
2) disconnect the printer from the computer
3) turn the printer off
4) put a half dozen sheets of paper in the printer
5) turn the printer back on
6) let it print away (replacing the same paper over and over) until it finally decides it has done its job and stops.

For additional info on garbled printing: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...ectID=bpj06309
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-08, 11:09 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 977
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HP printers are reset to factory default by turning off the
printer-pull the elect. cord at back of printer--wait about a minute--plug back in & turn on printer.
Were you printing something off the web when you got all these extra pages ?
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-08, 07:54 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 231
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I remember turning the printer off, then back on. The printer just resumed printing that junk. So I just recycled the printed pages until it was done. It seemed like at least 30 pages of useless stuff. Probably was printing something off the web.

Good info on the link twelvepole.

Doesn't turning the power off or unplugging the power cord achieve the same thing?
 
  #5  
Old 05-09-08, 08:29 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: cheverly, maryland
Posts: 152
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've had that happen a few times. It happens when I try to cancel a print job. I get around it by turning off the printer.
 
  #6  
Old 05-09-08, 03:13 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would also install a new driver. Often times the driver will get corrupted.
 
  #7  
Old 05-09-08, 06:58 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NE Conus
Posts: 509
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
pulling plug

Dave;
I am not a real hotshot computer expert, but I believe that just turning off is not the same. To reset to default ALL power must be removed. The computers and associated equipment will still continue to daw "trickle" voltage to maintain settings. The only way to remove is to completely remove the power source. Just like resetting a cable modem or wireless.
 
  #8  
Old 05-10-08, 06:30 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 69
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by HotinOKC View Post
I would also install a new driver. Often times the driver will get corrupted.
I think this is the problem. I have services countless printers and if your getting random characters it is a hallmark of driver corruption...

Go to hp.com select support. Type in your model and grab the latest driver package (get full software if avail so it will have the hp utilities)

Delete printer, and run the setup program from what you downloaded and the printer will be reinstalled with the latest drivers.

Also you can check windowsupdate to see if they have a better driver there as well.
 
  #9  
Old 05-11-08, 05:42 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 91
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The information sent to the printer from the computer is a series of codes followed by data for the code. For example, there is a code that says the next so many bytes of data following is for a graphic. The actual graphic data is binary which means it can contain any type of character including some that actually print (the garbage) and others that tell the printer to eject a page. Normally the data is treated as a graphic, prints properly, and then the next code is read.

What can happen though is the communications to the printer gets interrupted (driver or other problem) so that the code part gets lost and the binary data is printed as if it were text. This results in the many page ejects and garbage being printed.
 
  #10  
Old 05-11-08, 06:15 AM
O
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by HotinOKC View Post
I would also install a new driver. Often times the driver will get corrupted.
Usually not.
harvx got it right.
 
  #11  
Old 05-11-08, 09:01 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by oneofamill View Post
Usually not.
harvx got it right.
Read his post, he said driver as well......
 
  #12  
Old 05-11-08, 11:13 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 977
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My buddy gave me a neat program--by Epson called " web-to-page " when you are printing something on the web-you click on print preview & it shows each page that will be sent to printer. Uncheck any page that you do not want printed &
it will not print. What a paper & ink saver.................
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: