Can't Play DVD on Laptop

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-05-08, 10:57 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking Can't Play DVD on Laptop

Hi,

I have a HP Laptop and I was trying to play a DVD on it using Windows Media Player 11 and I keep getting an error saying "Windows Media Player has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience". This happens with any DVD that I try to play. This laptop is only 6 months old, but this is the first time that I tried playing a DVD on it. My DVDs work on my home entertainment center. Anyone know what's wrong?? I also tried to use Intervideo DVD and I got the same error.

Thanks,

sweetboy
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-08, 03:33 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Can you see the DVD drive in Windows Exlorer or My Computer? You should be able to read the contents of the drive when a DVD is in the tray. (The video_ts folder should show up.)

Does the drive play audio CDs? Can it read data DVDs or CDs?
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-08, 07:35 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You probably need a DVD player app.
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-08, 10:34 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking

Yes..I see the DVD listing show up in windows explorer and even behind this error box, I can see the chapter 1 of the movie, put when I try to clear the error box, the program shuts down.

sweetboy
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-08, 11:34 AM
O
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 504
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like it's a copy of a movie that wasn't written to the disk properly.
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-08, 11:37 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking

How do I get it to work?? Most of my DVDs are previously viewed movies that I purchased from Hollywood Video or Blockbuster. Remember, these movies do work on a regular home DVD player, just not on the laptop.

sweetboy
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-08, 04:14 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Intervideo was bought by Corel. There is an updated version of the program on that website.

In the meantime, see if you can navigate to an Options/Region Settings and select Region 1. I've seen a couple of machines that defaulted to a different region code. DVDs made for the US market (Region 1) won't play if the player's region code is set for anything else.
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-08, 09:26 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 337
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking

Thanks for the info. I went to HP's website and there was a patch for InterVideo that did the trick!.

Thanks,

sweetboy
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: