Blocking Ads


  #1  
Old 10-19-08, 08:58 AM
michaelshortt's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 789
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Blocking Ads

Anyway to block those popup ads that open in a new frame behind your screen?
 
  #2  
Old 10-19-08, 10:29 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,033
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is your pop up blocker in Internet Explorer on? I rarely get a pop up with it activated. It's located under "Tools" in the menu's.
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-08, 10:37 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 5,000
Received 310 Votes on 246 Posts
Hi Mike, I use Spybot which is free: SPYBOT
Also, if you're using IE, go up to Tools and turn on the Pop Up Blocker, if it's not on already. I also have the Google toolbar which has a pop up blocker.
Between the three of them, 99.9% of Pop-ups are blocked.
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-08, 11:38 AM
michaelshortt's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 789
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Shadladie, there are a few and I do have the popup blocker on. I am thinking the next time they show up I will add their address to the blocker.
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-08, 11:39 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
Firefox has one integrated called, appropriately enough, Adblock. You can put in wildcards like *doubleclick* and it blocks everything with that name in it, or a part of it. Firefox also blocks popups.
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-08, 05:01 PM
dcrobinson77's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by chandler View Post
Firefox has one integrated called, appropriately enough, Adblock. You can put in wildcards like *doubleclick* and it blocks everything with that name in it, or a part of it. Firefox also blocks popups.
This is what I'm using and it works sweet



another satisfied customer!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: