Restore from Full Version OS instead of restore cd

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-04-09, 12:13 PM
badeyeben's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern ILLINOIS
Posts: 952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Restore from Full Version OS instead of restore cd

I keep getting registry problems and blue screen problems. I have a full legal version of XP that I bought for another computer that was windows 98. I no longer use that machine.
Can I install the XP in my machine now over the XP that is already there or will it mess up? Would it replace the missing registry that the machine has to keep finding in a log or file?
I know I could use the restore cd that came with the machine but I wanted to avoid losing stuff. Thought thhis might be a fix (installing XP from Xp cd without the reformat). System recovery to an earlier date has no effect as all the dates say they cannot restore to this point.
If it is not possible and I need to use the cd restore that came with the machine how do I know what to backup and tell it is the whole thing not just a shortcut?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-04-09, 01:13 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You should do a fresh install.

Insert your XP disk into the drive and ensure your pc starts with the CDROM in BIOS. You basically want the computer to boot from the cdrom drive first.

It will then start the new install for you. You will be prompted to partition your harddrive. You will want to format (quick) your current partition (C). When this is done, you windows will begin installing. Should take about 39 minutes.
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-09, 02:20 PM
badeyeben's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern ILLINOIS
Posts: 952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know how to do a fresh install with the cd. I do not want to make the computer like it was when it is new. I want to know if I can install XP with XP already in it. Reformatting the hard drive will delete everything else on the computer. I just want to renew the XP.
I have a full OS of XP that was purchased after the computer was bought.
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-09, 03:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have you booted up in to Safe Mode to see if you get the blue screen or not? If ok at that point, then do a system restore to an earlier point. Perhaps the registration is corrupt. Restoring to an earlier point should help you out.
All data on the disk will remain, but the pointers to some newer programs after the restore will not be there.

If you restore ok, then backup your data should you have to do a fresh install again.

Doing an update will not restore your registration back to the way it was.

If you still get the blue screen in safe mode, and your still need to get the data off that drive, then you will have to back it up to another drive. Doing so means that you have to make that drive a slave and connect it up to another computer that is working in order for you to copy the data off that to the other computer. Once that is done, then place it back in your computer as a master drive, do a fresh install as HotinOKC mentioned. Change it back to a slave drive, install it back on the other computer and copy the data back on to it. Again make it a master drive and put it back in your computer. You will now have a fresh install of XP as well as having your data not lost.

It is a time consuming adventure. Once all is setup and working fine, backup data, and/or image the drive. That way if you encounter any more problems, nothing will be lost because you have it backed up.
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-09, 04:32 PM
badeyeben's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern ILLINOIS
Posts: 952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok maybe I did not explain it correctly.Here is the deal.
I get the blue screen occasionally not always. Last time was yesterday. The time before that was over a month ago. It happens when I am working on the computer or on the web. No defanite reason Just the thing shuts down and when it comes back on it says blue screen error and tells me the obvious solutions and causes. I have done the updates and they are set to automatic. The only new hardware before this happened the first time was Spy sweeper. I uninstalled it and left it off for 2 weeks when I got the blue screen thing again so that program could not have been the problem.
The registry problem now happens every time I restart or start my computer. It says it recover the file from another file.
My system restore is useless because what ever date I choose it says "cannot restore to this date" why? I don't know!
I am not wanting to use an update to correct the registry problems. I have a full version of XP. Just without all the extra programs the manufacturer puts on with theirs. No AOL,MSN, Or extra stuff.
As you say the fix of getting the info off and doing a fresh install is time consuming. I could do it but the problem is not happening every day so I thought an installation of windows would fill in the blanks for the old windows so to speak.
It would be much easier to install my official version of windows xp than do a fresh install and reformat.
Can that be done or will 2 copies of XP complicate things?
Are there any other fixes for the occasional problems I have? I leave the computer on all the time so the registry thing only happens when the power goes off. I do occasion restarts as needed when updating windows for example.
As far as the blue screen thing I have no idea what causes that since it happens so infrequently.
Just thought a fresh copy of windows might solve both problems.
 
  #6  
Old 01-04-09, 07:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it is a bug, worm, virus causing the problem, then re-installing XP will not do the trick. Sometimes the critters can be stored in the MBR which then upon boot re-create the bug. Since you said that you don't get the blue screen of death all the time, then backup all your data, and do a complete new install of the os (formating the drive etc.). Reinstalling the OS will just clutter things up more.
 
  #7  
Old 01-04-09, 07:55 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Almost sounds like a piece of hardware is at fault. Faulty hardware will cause unexpected computer restarts and BOD (blue screen of death).
 
  #8  
Old 01-04-09, 08:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As HotinOKC stated, I have seen the blue screen of death happen once in a while due to a faulty memory chip.

You could also have some IRQ's crashing into each other causing the BOD.

Run some diagonstics of your hardware to see if there are any problems.
 
  #9  
Old 01-06-09, 08:16 PM
badeyeben's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern ILLINOIS
Posts: 952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I run diagnostics on my hardware to see if there is a problem? Everything shows running fine in device manager.
 
  #10  
Old 01-06-09, 08:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I googled memory tests as well as windows diagnostics and there are a few around. I haven't tried these, but perhaps you may find them useful.

Memory tests
MemTest: RAM reliability tester for Windows
Microsoft Online Crash Analysis

Various diagnostic freeware
Freeware Files Windows Diagnostics Free Software
 
  #11  
Old 01-29-09, 12:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 58
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One thing the restore CD has going for it is that it has all of the necessary drivers. All the apps that it brings along are a pain but you don't have to go seaching for drivers.

A hardware problem seems the most likely. If this is a desktop machine try opening the case and reseating the memory chips, expansion cards and cables. BSOD's also come from bad drivers but this doesn't appear to be your problem.

I'm a big fan of good data backups and an annual fresh OS reinstall. Windows gets goofier over time and a fresh reload cleans out all the trash that's accumulated.
 
  #12  
Old 02-02-09, 04:04 PM
badeyeben's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern ILLINOIS
Posts: 952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I took the plunge and recovered my computer. Put the cd that came with the machine in and did a complete wipe and restart. Now I have no sound, the dvd/cd combo drive does not work and the modem is not working. It does not matter about the modem as I am on dsl and do not need it. But the sound and optical drive would be nice to have.
This is the second time I have did the restore. Last night I did it but as soon as Windows update did the service pack 3 and restart, it would not restart on anything but safe mode. Which was no help as I did not know what caused the problem to try to fix it. Tried the restore point before the update but it would not let me. So therefore I started a new restore today.
I have been to eMachines to get updates and got some but still the stuff not working. Windows update is downloading more as I am typing this. I am not sure where to go from here.
When I go to device manager the troubleshooter or the update driver is no help. The dvd/cd drive is a LiteOn Combo SOHC-4836V but they show no updates for drivers at their site. I am at a loss here. It sounded so simple to restore it to original state but it seems to have caused more problems than it fixed.
The thing was working ok but the My Documents shortcut on my desktop had quit working and every time I restarted the computer it would check the disk (c and d) so I thought what the heck I'll restore the thing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: