PLEASE HELP! Computer virus! Really bad one!

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-09, 12:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
PLEASE HELP! Computer virus! Really bad one!

Hello everybody. I have a terrible virus on my upstairs computer that won't even let me log in. It won't let me log in even if I try to log in with safe mode. I think that it would be fine if I could just reinstall windows xp pro, but how the heck can I reinstall that if I can't even log in! I don't have any important files on that computer at all. Please help me please
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-09, 01:12 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
well, depending on what drive you have set for the computer to boot from, you may win with this or not;

simply throw the recover CD or OS disk in whatever drive it fits and flip the switch. When it asks what you want to boot from, click on whatever drive the disc/diskette is in and fly.

That allows you to boot from the OS on the disc and not the computer. Then you can reload or repair the OS on the HD from there.
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-09, 08:42 AM
diyplank's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Williamsport
Posts: 728
Upvotes Received: 1
I just did this about a month ago b/c I think I got a small virus. Windows media wouldn't work along w/ the search for files and stuff. So I popped in the recovery cd and formatted my hard drive, not once, but twice. Works great now.

I had a bigger task though b/c I had to save about 5k pics to an external hd that I bought along w/ documents all my favorite websites, etc. Hope you get it fixed.
Good Luck
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-09, 05:52 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
windows XP will not let me reformat my C drive. It is becoming a pain in the rear. It's almost time to add another HD just so I can load the OS on it and then make it primary and reformat the current C drive.

anybody know how to load the OS on an external drive?
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-09, 04:54 AM
diyplank's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Williamsport
Posts: 728
Upvotes Received: 1
I don't know if an external HD is fast enough to run a OS. Make sure you look at that before you buy one! A new internal hd isn't horribly expensive so I would go that route. What kind of computer? DELL? HP?
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-09, 10:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 19
when the xp cd boots up, just go through the install procedure. it will have the option to reformat your hard drive. all data will be gone. let me know if you cannot boot up with cd (requires bios boot config).

don't forget to download and burn all your required drivers onto a cd or flash drive prior to reinstalling the OS.

-a|ex
 
  #7  
Old 02-10-09, 02:48 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Originally Posted by diyplank View Post
I don't know if an external HD is fast enough to run a OS. Make sure you look at that before you buy one! A new internal hd isn't horribly expensive so I would go that route. What kind of computer? DELL? HP?
dell Optiplex 620. I really don't need an andditional HD so if it comes to this. I will probably just borrow one from a friend.

Originally Posted by Devine Shadow View Post
when the xp cd boots up, just go through the install procedure. it will have the option to reformat your hard drive. all data will be gone. let me know if you cannot boot up with cd (requires bios boot config).

don't forget to download and burn all your required drivers onto a cd or flash drive prior to reinstalling the OS.

-a|ex
there was no option to reformat and when I go to msconfig and try to reformat, it says something about handles in use, would you like to terminate use and proceed. I click on yes and it just simply quits.

the only options were "new install" or "repair and installation". I shoot for new figuring it will reformat but after all is done, I still have all my old info and files etc.

and yes, I have set my machine to boot from CD drive.
 
  #8  
Old 02-10-09, 05:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 19
sounds like you skipped a step. there should be a step when it asks where you want to install the new os. it should list the existing partition and have options to delete it. once you chose to delete, then it will go through the steps in formating a new partition. try the installation steps again and pay close attention for optional commands for deleting/creating partitions.

-a|ex
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes