Moving computer

Old 03-14-09, 12:57 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moving computer

I want to move my computer to another room. It is connected to a cable modem. Do I have to reroute the entire modem to that room, or can I just get a patch cord? I have a crawl space and I am hoping that I only have to run a cord from the modem to the back of the PC leaving the modem where it is now, on the other end of the house. If I can do this what type of cord do I need to use. I made up a network (568B) cord to test it prior to moving it, but it had no connectivity. Am I missing something?

Old 03-14-09, 02:05 PM
I made up a network (568B) cord to test it prior to moving it, but it had no connectivity. Am I missing something?
use a pre made patch cord or better yet run some cat5e solid cable in the crawl space , terminate it to a cat5e jack in each room then use a factory made patch cords

or go wireless

Old 03-14-09, 05:09 PM
Thanks for the feedback, but I do network wiring for a living. I'm sure that you know that the patch cord runs from the back of the PC into the modem, so why would I run some cat5 from jack to jack? Like I said before am I missing something? That is how it is run now, with just a patch cord, so I'm not sure if I am doing something incorrectly. I know alot about structured cabling, but I am stumped here. DUH!

Old 03-14-09, 11:22 PM
R
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I would check your terminations if you used Cat5 and RJ45 connectors. They are a common fail point. Do you have a Cat5 tester?

Mango suggested the two wall plates so you don't have an ugly wire running along the floor from one room into another.

Old 03-15-09, 06:09 AM
Thanks for the feedback, but I do network wiring for a living.
and you cant move your own pc to another room without asking for help at a DIY forum ??

you don't know if you have to move the modem or if you can NETWORK them

that's scary