2 Software questions

Old 03-16-09, 08:02 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
2 Software questions

1) I've been using Lavasoft's Ad-Aware for a couple years,and lately it doesn't erase all the junk it comes across,and suggests that re-booting will eliminate the rest.
Is there something better out there ?

2) I have also been reading about free registry cleaners,but need some advice on them,and what seems to be the best?

Thanks

Old 03-16-09, 08:16 AM
Super Moderator
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Many times programs like ad-aware and Spybot Search and Destroy etc, can't remove things because they are actively being used or running. Just like some updates...have to reboot and remove/update them before they actually start.

AdAware is pretty highly recommended...I'm sure there are others...I've never had any issues so I haven't looked. All my protection stuff is free..so I put up with the quirks.

Dunno about the cleaners....I used CC Cleaner (?) once, but wound up upgrading the OS anyway.

Old 03-16-09, 09:01 AM
Thanks for reply. I don't really have a grip except for the re-booting thing that seems to have happened with Ad-Aware's update at some time.

I came across a news article on how registry cleaners can help to clean up your computer if your not computer savvy enough to do it yourself.

Old 03-16-09, 09:50 AM
Hi daswede,

I started to use Lavasoft in 2006 and I was a happy user until 2008. Adware 2008 was a version full of bugs, so I unistalled it and continued to use Adware SE, downloading and installing the definitions manually. This year, I installed the Lavasoft Anniversary Edition in my laptop and it worked like a charm. However, when I installed it in my main computer, it didn't work.
I ran AE with result zero critical objects, and immediately after this, I ran SE--> it found lots of critical objects
I contacted Lavasoft, without a concrete answer
I know that there are other users in the same situation.