TWAIN_32.dll

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-09, 03:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
TWAIN_32.dll

For a while now, when starting a video editing program, I've been getting the error message:

The TWAIN manager could not be initialized. TWAIN_32.dll missing or corrupt

I figured I would just download a new one & everything would be jake but all my Google searches turn up sites that offer to sell it to me (after a FREE DOWNLOAD of course

Anyone know where I could find an actual free replacement?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-09, 04:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what video editing program is this? Twain is typically a driver for things like scanners.
 
  #3  
Old 04-06-09, 05:18 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,856
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
I Googled twain_32.dll and came up with some sites with info and downloads for free.
 
  #4  
Old 04-06-09, 05:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TheCaptain View Post
what video editing program is this? Twain is typically a driver for things like scanners.
I'm using Vegas Studio. Yeah, TWAIN is for scanners but also for other input devices like cameras and such.
 
  #5  
Old 04-06-09, 05:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by the_tow_guy View Post
I Googled twain_32.dll and came up with some sites with info and downloads for free.
Yes, the downloads are free -- not the actual install & usage.

I thought this was a standard Windows dll but maybe I'm wrong?
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-09, 06:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reload Vegas. It's a known issue when something is installed after Vegas that Vegas' files become outdated.

Nice choice of video apps, BTW. Glad to see that you're experimenting with something other than Premiere.
 
  #7  
Old 04-06-09, 07:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, I think Sony Vegas is like the cats meow of video editing but costs a pretty penny.

If you know which driver this is for installing the software for that specific device might be faster. If you do not, I am not certain just randomly getting a driver will do the trick as each driver is typically written for one piece of hardware.

Are you running Vista or Windows7? I think they use a different type of driver, not TWAIN. Microsoft calls it something else but I cannot recall its name.
 
  #8  
Old 04-07-09, 11:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TheCaptain View Post
Yeah, I think Sony Vegas is like the cats meow of video editing but costs a pretty penny.
Surprisingly not. I'm running Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 8.0 (sorry Rick ... I called it something else in my PM) which sells for around $120 Cdn.

I've always liked Vegas -- easy to learn, quick, intuitive & great results.

Editor's note: I do not work for Sony or receive monies for free plugs ;-)
 
  #9  
Old 09-04-09, 05:06 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hAVe had the same problem with you and here is the exact solution for it ...


o guys having TWAIN manager error, probably you have disabled Windows Image Acquisition Service. Set it to manual and everything will be ok. That is (in case you don't know how to do it):

* Goto Start -> Administration Tools -> Services
* Double click "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)"
* Set "Start type" to "Manual", press "OK"
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: