Video split / distribute

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-09, 08:28 PM
4
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 87
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Video split / distribute

I'm looking for a solution to split the video signal from one computer to use one of two monitors...I want to alternate monitors, but not use them simultaneously.

I have a mac mini that I want to locate near my TV to play music/video (Hulu, Netflix, iTunes downloads, MP3s, etc). I also want the ability to not use my TV, but instead another monitor in a different room when I actually want to do work. I can use the same bluetooth keyboard and mouse, so I don't need a KVM switch (which is sort of the opposite of what I need - one monitor for two computers). I need a DVI switch that alternates which output the source is delivered to...then I also need the ability to get the video signal to the monitor about 60 ft away - possibly over ethernet(?).

Can I do this all for under $100???
Thanks,
Guy
 
  #2  
Old 04-07-09, 05:24 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Something like this? The distance will be an issue, though. If you locate the splitter halfway between the two screens you might get away with it.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-09, 08:56 PM
4
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 87
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Something like that...they make that type of device that has one input and two outputs that is powered, then they make another version that is passive (ie, just a cable). They also make DVI-to-cat5 adaptors that allow you to transmit the dvi signal 30 to 50 meters over a standard cat5 cable...again they have a powered or passive version.

Just wondering if there were any other great ideas out there.

Thanks,
Guy
 
  #4  
Old 04-09-09, 05:26 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,233
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Stay away from the passives. We've never had any luck with them unless the two monitors are identical. In your case, one of the monitors will "take over" and reset the video card to its native resolution, which will mess up the other monitor.

Depending on the situation we've used buffers, boosters, very expensive cables, active splitters, scan converters, and UTP (cat5) converters to add distance or split the signals.

Problem is, you're probably not going to run that distance for $100.
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-09, 08:08 PM
4
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 87
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A couple things I found for distribution of the signal...Both have the distance I need, but I'm confused about why I need two cat5 cables for the powered version (it allows it to support HDCP, but will that make hulu, netflix, itunes downloads, etc not work?).

1) Passive:
Amazon.com: Atlona 1080p DVI Passive Extender over Single Cat5 up to 100ft (NEW!!!): Electronics

2) Powered:
For only $110.50 each when QTY 50+ purchased - DVI Extender using Cat5e cable extending upto 50 Meter, Supporting DDC & HDCP | Video Extender

Also, I'm going to take my chances on a $5 splitter cable...if it doesn't work, then I'll spend more on a powered splitter. The only splitters I can find seem to ALWAYS send the signal to both outputs...it would be nice to be able to select the output to feed which might allow the DDC (auto screen resolution) to work. Otherwise, I can write a quick script to fix the resolution when I switch between displays.
Thanks,
Guy
 
  #6  
Old 04-10-09, 10:18 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you use another Mac in your office, and both the Mac Mini and your office mac is wired/wireless then do the following:

1) On your Mac Mini, click the "System Preferences"

2) Click on the "Sharing" icon (Internet & Network)

3) Click the "Screen Sharing" box (ON)

4) Close your "System Preferences".

5) On your office Mac, click "GO" on the top tool bar

6) From the drop down menu, click "Conect to Server...".

7) Click the "Browse" button in the window.

8) Click the "Mac Mini" icon.

9) In that window, you will see a button that says "Share Screen.."

10) Login if necessary (Mac Mini login).

Now you can remotly use the Mac Mini, and still have the main output connected to your television.

This is what I have currently setup and it works great.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: