Network Users

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-09, 04:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 108
Network Users

I added a user to computer station #2 on our network. This same user uses Station #1 also. We have 4 network drives and he can see only 3 of the 4, missing Drive "T" on the "new
" station, if I go to my computer or view entire network I see all the drives but "T" Could this drive somehow be set to only allow it to be mapped only to 1 computer per user at a time?
Paul
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-09, 06:21 PM
booster's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 41
Originally Posted by pallen View Post
Could this drive somehow be set to only allow it to be mapped only to 1 computer per user at a time?
Paul
no sir, it doesn't work that way.

Are you using XP? (pro or home)

Is it a workgroup or server domain?

on station 2, are you manually mapping the drive, ie right-click "my computer" > map drive and then entering the path?

can you go to run command and enter the same path and open the network drive without mapping it?

ie - \\computer name\shared drive\acounting
or \\10.0.0.5\shared drive\accounting

Is the user name and password the same on both machines?

lots of questions lol sorry

boosterBeer 4U2
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-09, 04:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 108
XP pro
server domain
when I enter the drive path, it says can not find
I will try the run command tomorrow
yes the user name and password are the same on both machines

Thanks
Paul
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-09, 05:10 PM
booster's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 41
Originally Posted by pallen View Post
XP pro
server domain
when I enter the drive path, it says can not find
I will try the run command tomorrow
yes the user name and password are the same on both machines

Thanks
Paul
Make sure you can ping that system "t" is on as well (if it is a different machine than the other maps.)

Also make sure T isn't being used on that system by a USB drive, or built in card reader etc.

Let me know about the run command etc,

booster
Beer 4U2
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-09, 05:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 108
Other users on this station can "see the "T" Drive!
Paul
 
  #6  
Old 04-21-09, 05:46 PM
booster's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 41
Oh, sorry I misunderstood. That changes the troubleshooting steps

When user1 logs on they can see the mapped drive "t" but then comes User2 and he logs into his profile and "t" isn't there, nor can you map it.

let me thinks about it, still try the run command though, i would like to see it the drive will open on his profile even.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes