Can't start BITS

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-13-09, 09:01 PM
dkpbxman's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYS
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't start BITS

Sometime I was hit by some nasty malware that changed the path my computer has for BITS from %SystemRoot%\system32\svchost.exe -k netsvcs to %fystemRoot%\system32\svchost.exe -k netsvcs.

The only change is fystemRoot from SystemRoot but it's enough to stop Bits from running and thereby stop me from using Windows Update.

I have been able to see this when I run services.msc, double click on Background Intelligent Transfer Service and look in the "Path to Executable" box but I can't figure out a way to edit that to what I need.

Can anybody help?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-13-09, 10:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 283
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #3  
Old 08-13-09, 10:59 PM
dkpbxman's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYS
Posts: 167
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Figured it out

I had to find the corrupted file first. Mine was in the Registry at HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE->SYSTEM->CURRENT CONTROL SET->SERVICES->BITS

In the right pane, I then had to highlight IMAGE PATH (where the problem was), then go to EDIT, drop down to PERMISSIONS, click that and highlight ADMINISTRATORS (me) in the "Group or User Names" box. Right below that I had to check the box to allow full control and then I could go back and edit the Image Path.

Did that and just now used Windows Update to Downkoad/Install a security update and everything was OK.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: