LCD TV for Monitor

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-09, 11:05 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
LCD TV for Monitor

When using a LCD TV for a monitor, is it better to use the DVI to HDMI cable or a regular RGB cable. This will only be one monitor, not a second monitor. I was wondering if the DVI output on the video card works with only one monitor.

Also, will windows XP automatically go into widescreen mode or do you need to adjust the resolution? I don't want to use the TV if it is not a true 16:9 display.

Thanks, Brian
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-09, 12:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 31
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would use the DVI if the TV supports it, better resolution if you are watching something in HD on the computer. I also think the resolution capability will depend on your video card that is sending the signal to teh TV. You can usually check the manufactures website for the specs.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-09, 03:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: East of st. paul, mn in wi
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmm, I'd be surprised if your video card had an HDMI port, most don't, I think some of the newer ones do. DVI is traditionally (these days) the way to go, don't use RGB.

As for the display, you'd need to find out what the LCD's native resolution is, essentially windows XP can display in pretty much anything the monitor can accept, the frequency, display sizes are all pretty much determined by the monitor, you can choose which sizing you'd pick. I always go with the largest I can which is usually referred to 'native resolution'. If the monitor is wide screen, then you'll get your display in wide screen so long as you select the appropriate settings.

When you are setting up, and you are at the desktop, right click any where on the desktop itself where there is open space and click properties. Go to the furthest right tab, it should be called 'settings'. Look around there, that should give you what you want. Be certain you have the appropriate drivers for your video card as well. If you want, you might even want to go and update the drivers. I always uninstall the drivers and delete it's folder before installing new drivers. For some reason there's often conflicts other wise.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: