recording tv on a computer

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-09, 07:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: midwest
Posts: 294
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
recording tv on a computer

Does anyone on this forum use there computer to record tv? I am now using TIVO but my subscription is running out so thinking I would like to use my computer if I thought it would work as good as a TIVO.

Thanks for any suggestions.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-16-09, 07:38 PM
jmstephens's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hmm.. it depends on how much you want to spend. First thing you need is a video card for your computer.
I am sure there is a program out there that can act like tivo but one is not coming to mind right now.


go here for more details : makezine.com: Free TiVo: Build a Better DVR out of an Old PC
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-09, 09:30 PM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Google SageTV, thats what I'm using. Works very much like a Tivo.
I have two tuners installed in a dedicated PC just for this purpose. Remote control and everything. Works great for me.
Best thing is I can get clients for other PC/Mac's in the house and watch TV on them through the Sagetv server.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: