Start Menu Icons Vista

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-09, 01:57 PM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,969
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Start Menu Icons Vista

This happened after 2 years. There is a sleep icon, a lock and a drop down menu. The sleep icon now has a yellow shield with a black exclaimation point in the shield superimposed on half the icon. When you put the cursor over it you get: "Installs updates and then shuts down your computer". If I click on it it does just what it says but takes for ever to update, install and shut down. What is going on? How do I get rid of it? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-09, 02:11 PM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's just installing updates. There may be many updates it needs to install. I would just keep doing it until it's completely finished.
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-09, 12:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 149
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sometimes it might need a few goes, because one update has to be completely installed before it can install another.
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-09, 01:56 PM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,969
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
What I don't understand is how and why this update icon got where it is. It doesn't belong there. I'm suspicious that it might be a virus.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-09, 11:40 AM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's where the update Icon goes in Windows Vista, and Windows 7. That's where it has always gone for Vista. Windows Vista automatically downloads the updates, then when they are downloaded, it put the update icon on the standby/shutdown menu. That's for both Windows Vista all varieties, and Windows 7.
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-09, 01:35 PM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,969
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Crazycory, I did it and no problems so far. Thanks for you help. I don't think I ever saw that icon there and that was my concern.
 
  #7  
Old 12-19-09, 03:21 PM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No problem. Glad you got it sorted out. Sometimes it's easy to miss that stupid icon. I do it on my Windows 7 machine all the time.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: