Looking for info on ram for my pc

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-10, 04:24 PM
PRO1 TECH's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NEW HYDE PARK NY
Posts: 257
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looking for info on ram for my pc

HOW CAN I FIND OUT THE MAX OF RAM I CAN INSTALL IN MY UNIT
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-02-10, 05:03 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Go here....very accurate and easy. RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, flash cards, SSD at Crucial.com

Of course you don't need to buy theirs..you can get it wherever.
 
  #3  
Old 01-02-10, 05:04 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
  #4  
Old 01-02-10, 09:04 PM
PRO1 TECH's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NEW HYDE PARK NY
Posts: 257
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how do i find out this info


If you are using a 64-bit operating system your computer will support a maximum of 8 GB of memory.
If you are using a 32-bit operating system, your computer will only support a maximum of 4 GB of memory.

Modules must be ordered and installed in pairs for Dual Channel Mode
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-10, 07:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,569
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Processor

If you are using a 64-bit operating system your computer will support a maximum of 8 GB of memory.
If you are using a 32-bit operating system, your computer will only support a maximum of 4 GB of memory.
Go to: My Computer-->View System Information
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-10, 01:34 PM
PRO1 TECH's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NEW HYDE PARK NY
Posts: 257
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
more info i installed 2 2gb ddr2 dimm and the system tells me 3gb
and this what dell tells me is in the system

BIOS Vendor Dell Inc.
BIOS Version 2.5.0
BIOS Date 05-24-07
Windows Version Microsoft Windows XP Professional

Processor
Manufacturer Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz
Clock Speed 1.9GHz
L2 Cache Size 2048

Processor
Clock Speed 1.9GHz

Memory
Available Memory 74.11 %
Page File Size -1021.Mb
Available Page File -1050 %
Virtual Memory 2047.8Mb
Available Virtual Memory 98.01 %
Memory Slot 1 [DIMM_3] 2048Mb
Memory Slot 2 [DIMM_2] 2048Mb

Memory
Memory Slot 1 [DIMM_3] 2048Mb
Memory Slot 2 [DIMM_2] 2048Mb

any help
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-10, 02:10 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
where does that say anything about 3 gig of memory. It clearly states you have 2 X 2 gig of mem installed.

Memory
Memory Slot 1 [DIMM_3] 2048Mb
Memory Slot 2 [DIMM_2] 2048Mb
what "system" is telling you 3 gig of anything?
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-10, 02:49 PM
PRO1 TECH's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NEW HYDE PARK NY
Posts: 257
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
 
  #9  
Old 01-03-10, 03:12 PM
PRO1 TECH's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NEW HYDE PARK NY
Posts: 257
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just found out why

Why doesn't my Windows® PC recognize the whole 4GB of memory I installed?
Not only is there a maximum amount of memory that your computer motherboard can accept, there is also a maximum amount of memory that your operating system (OS) can accept. For instance, when you install 4GB of memory in a 32-bit Windows system (the most common version; 64-bit systems are typically used by high-end users), your system reports only 3GB or 3.5GB.
First , we can assure you, there isn't a problem with the memory. While Windows allows for 4GB of memory to be addressed, it does not equate to 4GB of physical memory.

Some of the memory (regardless of how much you have installed) is reserved for use by the devices that you are using, such as a graphics card, PCI card, integrated network connections, etc, meaning it is unavailable for use as normal main memory.

Upon startup, your system calculates the amount of memory needed for these devices; if you haven't maxxed out the memory in your system, it's invisible to you, and all your physical memory (the installed RAM) is available for use. However if you've maxxed out the DRAM in your system, this amount will be deducted from your physical memory, so you can't use 100% of your DRAM.

The maximum memory limitation varies by operating system, For instance, the 4GB memory limitation doesn't exist in 64-bit versions of Windows.


Q: Will my system recognize the maximum upgrade?

A: Possibly

How much memory your Windows OS will recognize depends on which version of Windows you are running. 32-bit versions of Windows will see (and utilize) only 3GB or 3.5GB. To utilize more memory, install a 64-bit version of your OS. More information about OS memory maximums can be found at Crucial FAQ - Answer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: