Install New Power Supply

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-27-10, 12:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Install New Power Supply

Dell Dimension 8200

I noticed the fan isn't working on my power supply so I ordered a new supply, came yesterday. Only thing the manual mentions is to take note of how the wires are routed. Any thing else I should watch for? Never did this before.

Also, I have a small craftsman compressor, 1HP I think and it is 'oil -less" . Can I use this to blow out the dust or should I use air in the can? I'm not sure if anyone in town sells it.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-10, 02:28 PM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I myself would use the air in a can. Walmart usually sells it if you have one close to you. As far as the power supply goes, it doesn't matter all that much as to where the wires are routed as long as the ATX cable reaches the ATX plug on the board, and the 4 pin (two yellow, 2 black wire) plug reaches where the old one is plugged into. Just carefully unplug, and unscrew the old one from the computer, take it out, put the new one in, then plug in the cables that are needed. Should take roughly 20 minutes. If you have any problems let me know and I'll try and help.

Cory
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-10, 02:45 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
IF you have to use the compressor, turn the outlet pressure down to less than 10 psi with a dead ended hose. That way you won't blow all your data into the next county.
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-10, 03:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I think 100# would get more dust out. I called Ace Hardware and they have one can. We do have a small place that sells computers but they are only open Monday and Tuesday.

I sure hope the power supply is the correct one, I ordered it from Dell. It has seven plugs coming out of it that go somewhere, I'm sure I'll find out when I open the case. If I had any brains I'd have ordered some air from Dell at the same time.

Thanks guys,

Baldwin
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-10, 05:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
At least you ordered it from Dell. Their power supplies are proprietary so you can't just go someplace and get one.
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-10, 07:28 PM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Their power supplies were proprietary. They no longer are. Dell stopped doing that I wanna say after the Dimension 8200 or 8300. I don't remember when. I replaced a power supply in my ex roomates dell with a power supply from a custom built computer just about a year ago. Still running strong today.
 
  #7  
Old 01-28-10, 05:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Be careful when you route the wiring to keep it well away from fans and heat sinks.
 
  #8  
Old 01-28-10, 05:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thumbs down No Joy...Won't Fit

Good thing I took a look before opening the case.

On my old supply, looking from the back.....

1)fan on the right

2) AC plug on top left

3) Voltage selector below


On the new one......

1) Fan on right

2) On/off switch on top

3) Voltage selector below

4) AC plug bottom left (with NO knockout on back plate for plug)


I suppose a person could take a dremel and cut out a rectangle space so the AC cord could plug in. Not sure what is in there.

Call Dell and see if they have a different one? And if they do send a new one I think I should order a new case fan at the same time, this one is 9 years old.

I knew it wouldn't be easy. Now to try and explain this to some foreigner.


Baldwin
 
  #9  
Old 01-28-10, 07:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thumbs down

After going to 'Dell Chat' and conversing with technician Deepika, he suggested I order this:

DELL Refurbished: 250-Watt PFC Power Supply for Select Dell Dimension / OptiPlex / Precision WorkStation : Parts & Upgrades | Dell

That sure doesn't look like anything I have. Any suggestions?

As much as I hate these smiley things I can't help it.......

Beer 4U2


Baldwin
 
  #10  
Old 01-29-10, 02:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I found one to fit a 8200 but it is 400W vs 250W for the original, does that matter?

250W they sent me:

+3.3V (20A)
+5V (25A)
+12V (13A)
-5V (0.3A)
-12V (0.8A)
+5 VSB (2.0A)
================

400W

Current -12.0V (A) 1A
Current +12.0V1 (A) 14A
Current +12.0V2 (A) 15A
Current +3.3V (A) 30A
Current +5.0V (A) 28A
Current +5.0Vsb (A) 2.5A
Output Power 400
=====================

Is it okay to have the higher amps and how long till this supply bursts into flames with no fan working?


Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 01-29-10, 09:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 400-watt supply beats the 250 in every spec (as it should). The -5v is missing from the 400w specs, btw.

A power supply doesn't push current or wattage. It allows devices to pull only what they need. The computer will only draw what it needs, so no need to worry about burning anything.

Cheap 12v muffin fans are widely available and can be connected to the +12 and ground. A 400-watt supply could power as many as you could cram into the cabinet. Realistically, four will usually do the job: Two sucking from the front, and two exhausting at the rear. Make sure one of the exhaust fans is cooling the power supply.
 
  #12  
Old 01-30-10, 02:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,369
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
googleing online i found one that fits FSP250-60ATV-1A its not a dell brand but its compatible. i know you techs are going to say its a no no but for now its a match.
 
  #13  
Old 01-30-10, 10:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
More reading and I'm gonna order this one:

PROVANTAGE: StarTech.com ATXPW400DELL 400 Watt ATX12V 2.01 Dell PC Power Supply


This is compatible in the Dimension 1100 up to the 8300. Reading reviews they go right in the 8200 and work fine. Only complaint is too many outlet wires you have to tuck away.

I'm thinking the one they sent me is for after the 8300.
 
  #14  
Old 01-31-10, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Question

My brain hurts.....hopefully this will be the last question on this. On the supply I plan to buy it says this:

1 x 4-pin ATX12V
1 x 24-pin ATX Motherboard


Is the one in red what some places call the "P4 connector"?


Flirty, that's a great site, can't believe I didn't run across it whilst searching. They are a bit spendy though.

Thanks! I can't believe how something seemingly so simple can be so difficult thanks to the incompetents at Dell.


Edit: reason I ask is the other site has this and they seem to be the same thing, at least to me:

One ATX connector (20/24 pin)
One 12V connector for P4 motherboards
 

Last edited by Baldwin; 01-31-10 at 12:48 PM. Reason: Forgot This
  #15  
Old 01-31-10, 04:56 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 413
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The 4 Pin "P4" is the same as the ATX 12V they started calling ATX 12V because AMD and all of the newer Motherboards now use that connector (Not just for Pentium 4 anymore, it was when it first came out though)
And as you noticed the 20+4 Pin as it is called is the same as 24 Pin ATX but the 20+4 Pin has a removable 4 pin block to fit into the 20 Pin ATX connector on older boards
Oh also do not plug the extra 4 pins from the 20+4 pin Connector into the ATX 12V plug as it will fry the motherbiard
 
  #16  
Old 01-31-10, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,626
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Alright, I actually understand that. I finally got something right!

Oh also do not plug the extra 4 pins from the 20+4 pin Connector into the ATX 12V plug as it will fry the motherboard
I hope not. I'm gonna take pictures and label every wire before I unhook anything. I'm sure after doing this just once it will be no big deal, I just haven't done it before. I get the whiskey jitters just opening the case.

Thanks very much!

$7.49 for a can of air at Ace. Wow!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: