Mse

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-10, 01:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,140
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Mse

What firewall will work with Microsoft Security Essentials?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-10, 02:47 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Are you using a wireless router?
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-10, 08:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,140
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
security

I have a wireless router .
I did download Zone Alarm and it works well with MSE, BUT>
I have received notes from friends telling me that MSE does not provide the best security. They say it is behind the bad guys by 15 minutes and they advise me to use my free Noton Security center instead.
I found Noton difficut to use but maybe I did not give it enougfh time.
Now I am confused.
Asking two doctors the same question and getting two answers is a way to put it.
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-10, 10:36 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Your router is your firewall. Norton and Mcafee gobble up computer space and set themselves up to dominate your computer. Just try uninstalling one. It is a bear. As far as virus protection, many of us use free Avast and it works quite well. Personal opinion, and free by the way, I don't like Norton nor McAfee.
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-10, 12:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,140
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
security

Yes, my router in my firewall but after reading, I found that Zone Alarm gives you a little better edge than Windows firewall re outgoing traffic.
It is working fine as I type.
Just curious, and I respect the referral re: Avast, have you read any opinions etc about MSE?
It was something I would never had considered based upon M.S.'s past performance and security.
I have found that theyhave really beefed up their ratings with MSIE 8 + MSE.
I have not yet made up my mind.
By the way, if you want to uninstall either Mcafee or norton begin in add/remove but already have downloaded to your desktop their uninstallers which you can Google to find.
I have uninstalled both a couple of times within twenty minutes including reboot. They clear the reg out as ccleaner will indicate.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: