Need a new lap top what to buy?

Old 02-08-10, 01:20 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need a new lap top what to buy?

My old lap top is so slow that I don't want to use it any more. With only 512 MB of RAM it takes much to long to even turn on. My question is what would be a good make and model to look at. I use it mainly for the internet but I don't want a netbook. I'm waiting for a Consumers Report annual buying guide but in the meantime I want to get started shopping. I'm looking to spend about $700 or less. It needs to have at least a CD burner and I see that some don't have that option. I just found ths at Office Depot and with Ebates it would be another 2% less.

http://www.officedepot.com/a/product...SNKE:13ddq0uth

Last edited by mgmine; 02-08-10 at 03:20 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 02-08-10, 03:58 PM
I'm a writer and have 4 kids (3 of which are reaching preteeny status rather quick... This is the reason why I went to net books. I purchased one for a quick jaunt down to a client to cover an event and I fell in love with it. I ended up buying 4 for the family. Wife and kids.

they do not have any drives so anything you need to install would either need to be downloaded via the web (which i haven't found any product where I can't download via the web) or you can purchase a peripheral.

Now that my sales pitch is over , I have always had a laptop. I have never had a desk top, nor have I ever owned an apple.

I usually purchase laptops in bulk, for my sales guys and writers via dell, but I recently found some nice 15" toshibas at best buy for like $550. they have everything you need.

I never liked buying electronics off of ebay or auction sites cause you just never know what you are going to get. I have zero experience buying them from office supply stores as well. I bought the netbooks from Best buy. 3 Dell and 1 HP (that's all they had left).