Virus - next step

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-08-10, 04:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Virus - next step

Hello
McAfee scan said a trojan was detected, repaired and removed. It was called Exploit - PDF.q......
Whenever I run the scan it still says it is detected, repaired, removed.
I called McAfee and they told me to go to 'restore' and click remove.
I ran the Microsoft scan which says I have no infections.
I read that Adobe was having trouble with its reader and flashplayer I think.
Could that be the problem and is the reason why it says 'PDF"?
I do not know how to trouble shoot this or what I should do next..
Thank you for help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-08-10, 05:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try downloading a program called malwarebytes and see if it will pick it up and remove it. It's a free program and really good.
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-10, 09:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
trojan

Originally Posted by jpr28056 View Post
Try downloading a program called malwarebytes and see if it will pick it up and remove it. It's a free program and really good.
>>Thank you for the advice. I'll try to let you lnow.
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-10, 11:25 AM
pmgca's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 893
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi peterr,

first (and very important) a trojan is not a virus, they are "cousins" (and they are bad) but they operate in a different way

Another reason for the recurrent infection is a recurrent loading of the trojan--> say the trojan is part of a file or a program, etc. You deleted the trojan --> you open the program--> the trojan will be loaded again
I saw some trojans loaded in Broderbund programs

Spybot (http://www.safer-networking.org/index2.html - it is free) is very efficient with trojans, specially because it detects the attempts in real time (when the program intends to load the trojan)
 
  #5  
Old 02-09-10, 12:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 149
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's often worth doing a google for the virus filename. Someone else has probably had it and there will be details of how to remove it. Exercise caution and make sure you use system recovery.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-10, 12:20 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Hmmm depending on what version...that should be real easy to remove...it seems its pretty old.
 
  #7  
Old 02-09-10, 01:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Trojan

I ran the windows virus scan, Mcafee virus scan and they were negative since I used the Mcafee software to remove it - it was in 'restore'.
I ran Secunia and it reports alL my programs etc are secure and Updated.
Cross fingers it is gone for good.
I am going to boot McAfee anyway. Comcast is switching to norton's new program that was supposed to be less bLoated than others.
Instead I will go with Windows Security Essentials, behind a router and use Zone Alarm. I have ben using this combination on the laptop with no problems and it is nice and light and fast.
I'll let you all know if something comes up and thank you for the help.
 
  #8  
Old 02-09-10, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 2,136
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
spybot

Originally Posted by pmgca View Post
Hi peterr,

first (and very important) a trojan is not a virus, they are "cousins" (and they are bad) but they operate in a different way

Another reason for the recurrent infection is a recurrent loading of the trojan--> say the trojan is part of a file or a program, etc. You deleted the trojan --> you open the program--> the trojan will be loaded again
I saw some trojans loaded in Broderbund programs

Spybot (The home of Spybot-S&D! - it is free) is very efficient with trojans, specially because it detects the attempts in real time (when the program intends to load the trojan)
>>I will consider Spybot. I used to use it then it became quite heavy.
Don't forget you can only use one "real time protection" at one time.
My MSE has that feature.
 
  #9  
Old 02-09-10, 05:11 PM
pmgca's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 893
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by peterr View Post
>>Don't forget you can only use one "real time protection" at one time.
Nope, this is not accurate
I've 4 different real time protections running and they "live happy together"

I'd not trust the AV or malware security of my computer in a MS product
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: