Hard Drive crash

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-17-10, 05:51 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hard Drive crash

If my hard drive crashed that would mean I couldn't
connect to my wireless network right I cannot even connect directly to the Internet...It was working perfectly that is this laptop I just bought from a fellow..but i went back to my netbook
wireless connection then when I wanted to get this other laptop
connected again to the wireless I have a zero response tried a direct connection
in main house nothing what do you folks think
The laptop in question is a Acer travelmate 2200 I believe made in 2004
 

Last edited by 2x2; 02-17-10 at 05:52 PM. Reason: additional info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-10, 05:57 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You failed Punctuation 101, I see. Sure would make for better reading.
Did you write this thread post from your computer? If so, it didn't crash.
If it crashed, you probably wouldn't be able to boot it up. What symptoms is it exhibiting?
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-10, 06:25 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
laptop

I boot it up and the laptop cannot find the wireless connection
I have tried to locate my network connections to no avil
it always detected the wireless connection don't know what happened
 
  #4  
Old 02-18-10, 12:02 AM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Agree with the punctuation remark..That's not a hard drive crash. If it were a hard drive crash more than likely you wouldn't be able to get into Windows at all. Sounds like you may have to try and reinstall the drivers for the wireless card first.
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-10, 06:27 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wireless drivers

How do i get wireless drivers when
I cannot get on the Internet with it..
I didn't pay much for it from this fellow
it was running good...but I do not want to spend a lot
of money on it I would sooner throw my money towards
a new one & not fix a 2004 model
 
  #6  
Old 02-18-10, 06:38 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The router may or should have come with a disk of drivers. You can bypass the router and hook directly up to the modem to get on the internet to establish the drivers as well. Buying a new router may not be a bad idea.
 
  #7  
Old 02-18-10, 07:01 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
If you can't get on the Internet, how are you posting here? By phone?
 
  #8  
Old 02-18-10, 12:12 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
netbook

Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
If you can't get on the Internet, how are you posting here? By phone?
I got my netbook going it works also with the same wireless connection
 
  #9  
Old 02-18-10, 12:17 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by chandler View Post
The router may or should have come with a disk of drivers. You can bypass the router and hook directly up to the modem to get on the internet to establish the drivers as well. Buying a new router may not be a bad idea.
I tried it directly through the modemn I figured for sure I would
get on Internet that way but couldn't it doesn't respond
..I also have a couple of wireless routers don't see that has a problem cause it's working with my netbook so you cannot blame the wireless router
 

Last edited by 2x2; 02-18-10 at 12:18 PM. Reason: spelling mistake
  #10  
Old 02-18-10, 12:25 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
anti virus

I can't even get my anti virus to work even under a normal boot..I must have some corrupted files I think the only thing is for someone to reformat it but I am not spending any money on it will sell it for a song
 

Last edited by 2x2; 02-18-10 at 12:26 PM. Reason: spelling
  #11  
Old 02-18-10, 02:07 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Originally Posted by 2x2 View Post
I got my netbook going it works also with the same wireless connection
If your able to get on with the netbook using the same wireless connection then your other computer is for sure having issues. Can you hard connect to the router and either ping the netbook or have the netbook ping the computer? Can you access the router and see if the computer is on the list?

We can back up a bit here. What OS is on the computer? Check all your settings in your network settings and make sure it is set to auto attain IP address.
 
  #12  
Old 02-18-10, 07:39 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
windows XP SP3

Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
If your able to get on with the netbook using the same wireless connection then your other computer is for sure having issues. Can you hard connect to the router and either ping the netbook or have the netbook ping the computer? Can you access the router and see if the computer is on the list?

We can back up a bit here. What OS is on the computer? Check all your settings in your network settings and make sure it is set to auto attain IP address.
windows XP SP3 that is the O.S
 
  #13  
Old 02-19-10, 07:58 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Ok, check your settings and make sure they are right.

Connect network cable (Cat 5) to computer and router. Make sure you have a green light on both the computer and router.

Rt click my network places>properties>rt click Local Area Connection>Properties> select TCP/IP and click properties.

Everything should be set to auto attain IP address if your router is set to be the DHCP which I'm betting it is if your netbook is working.

Again, with the computer hard wired to the router, see if you can get the internet using a browser.

If not see if you can ping google using the C: prompt "C: ping www.google.com"

If not, see if you can ping your netbook by IP under the c: prompt.

If none of this works I would but your network card is dead.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 02-19-10 at 09:16 AM.
  #14  
Old 02-19-10, 08:45 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
router direct

OK I'll try it again and see what happens I suspect your right
I guess with todays technology it's old
 
  #15  
Old 02-19-10, 10:37 PM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
never got it working

the guy I bought the laptop from bought it back for a song
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: