How many spyware programs?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-19-10, 07:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 164
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many spyware programs?

I working on cleaning my computer some people say i dont neeed to run all the protection I do. I recently got roadrunner so iam using their security suite but not the firewall that i use windows, but my question is that I run CA antispyware, Spybot, Webroot spy sweeper, Windows defender do i need all this or would one be fine? Other prgrams I run are C-Cleaner, Malwarebytes anti malware, CA anti virus, CA anti spam. I must admit nothing seems to conflict that I know of, but i know start up is slower.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-19-10, 08:22 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,419
Received 68 Votes on 54 Posts
I have Avast, Windows Defender, Spybot and Malwarebytes and these seem to be enough. Haven't had any problems (yet).
So, I don't think you need all those running.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-10, 08:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 283
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the magic 3

1 keep it to 3

AVG Free

Spybot
Search and Destroy

Adaware

since AVG is the only program that runs resident
the other 2 are scans as i need them

boot time is not too bad

I never use the ISP securities programs ( I am on FIOS and they have their own ), it seems like they give too many false positives and really slow the system down
 
  #4  
Old 02-22-10, 08:02 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 5 Votes on 1 Post
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by mikerios View Post
1 keep it to 3
AVG Free
Spybot Search and Destroy
Adaware

since AVG is the only program that runs resident
the other 2 are scans as i need them

boot time is not too bad

I never use the ISP securities programs ( I am on FIOS and they have their own ), it seems like they give too many false positives and really slow the system down
I agree. I have RR also. learning from experience, I don't use the suites that come with it. All I need RR for is my ISP and that's it.
I use Comodo for my anti-virus (it's free).
The only residents I have running is Spy bot and Comodo.
I keep a clean computer. I have Comodo, Spybot and Ad-aware scheduled to run every week while I'm asleep.
On a few occasions when I do something stupid *ahem* I run Malwarebytes. I also have a program I use to defrag once a month.
 
  #5  
Old 02-23-10, 08:48 AM
2x2's Avatar
2x2
2x2 is offline
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 240
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
stop

Originally Posted by stic View Post
I working on cleaning my computer some people say i dont neeed to run all the protection I do. I recently got roadrunner so iam using their security suite but not the firewall that i use windows, but my question is that I run CA antispyware, Spybot, Webroot spy sweeper, Windows defender do i need all this or would one be fine? Other prgrams I run are C-Cleaner, Malwarebytes anti malware, CA anti virus, CA anti spam. I must admit nothing seems to conflict that I know of, but i know start up is slower.
don't run all those programs get yourself one version of spware and anti virus let it go there..some say you can get a second program for spyware so it's up to you I don't anymore
right now all I am using is AVG
 
  #6  
Old 02-23-10, 01:57 PM
harry48's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by stic View Post
I working on cleaning my computer some people say i dont neeed to run all the protection I do. I recently got roadrunner so iam using their security suite but not the firewall that i use windows, but my question is that I run CA antispyware, Spybot, Webroot spy sweeper, Windows defender do i need all this or would one be fine? Other prgrams I run are C-Cleaner, Malwarebytes anti malware, CA anti virus, CA anti spam. I must admit nothing seems to conflict that I know of, but i know start up is slower.
use windows firewall it's good enough

you only need one prog; of each

Trend Micro is good site so the spyware should be ok , i have never used it

take out these 3 Spybot, Webroot spy sweeper, Windows defender not needed

keep these 2 they are good, C-Cleaner, Malwarebytes anti malware,

take out these 2 CA anti virus, CA anti spam. you have a security suite so there is a anti-virus in it , you should only have 1 in a pc
 
  #7  
Old 02-23-10, 03:34 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 5 Votes on 1 Post
Take out SpyBot? Heaven forbid! You didn't mean to get rid of it, did you?
 
  #8  
Old 02-23-10, 03:52 PM
harry48's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Dawter View Post
Take out SpyBot? Heaven forbid! You didn't mean to get rid of it, did you?
yes i did , ok then , leave spybot and take out trend micro there is no need to have 2 prog; doing the same thing , harry
 
  #9  
Old 02-23-10, 03:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If they're not running resident and hogging resources keep them. All of them find different things.
 
  #10  
Old 02-23-10, 06:23 PM
Dawter's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 238
Received 5 Votes on 1 Post
That's true. They all find different critters.
 
  #11  
Old 02-27-10, 08:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 164
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So I got rid of the CA suite, installed avg. So I should contine with windows defender, spybot, webroot, an c cleaner an malware when needed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: